Sydney Sixers v Hobart Hurricanes livestream: Watch BBL 2016/17 live online, TV listings

The Sixers opened their campaign against defending champions Thunder.

Stuart Broad BBL
Can Broad make an impact with the Hurricanes? Reuters

Match: Sydney Sixers v Hobart Hurricanes

Date: 23 December, Friday

Time: 3:10pm SGT/12:40pm IST/7:10am GMT

Competition: Big Bash League 2016/17

Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground

TV Channel: Star cricket will provide live TV coverage of the match.

Live Streaming: Hotstar, Sky Go


Sydney Sixers, who finished at the bottom of the Big Bash League table last season, opened this year's campaign on a high after crushing the defending champions Sydney Thunder by nine wickets on Tuesday.

Their bowling attack, which consists the likes of Steve O'Keefe, Joe Mennie, Johan Botha, Doug Bollinger and Ben Dwarshuis, clicked on the opening day as they restricted the Thunder to 159 and chased down the target with 12 balls to spare. Jason Roy, Moses Henriques and Daniel Hughes got the job done with solid knocks.

The Sixers would definitely want to keep the winning momentum going and make the most of the conditions at home. However, their batting order, which lacks considerable depth, heavily depends on their top-order along with Sam Billings and Brad Haddin. It will be interesting to see how the England international copes up Down Under.

On the other hand, Hobart Hurricanes, who finished a place above the Sixers in the last season, would want to kick off their campaign with a win in Sydney. The George Bailey-led team have solid T20 batsmen in Kumar Sangakkara, who is heading into the tournament after having a good run in recently-concluded Bangladesh Premier League, Tim Paine and all-rounder Dan Christian.

However, all the spotlight will be on England pacer Stuart Broad, who has the international experience as well as all the tricks to make an impact in BBL. However, he is in doubt for Friday's clash as he has landed in Australia right after he played the final Test of a long five-match series in India.

TV Schedule

Singapore: Star Cricket

India: Star Sports

US: Willow TV

UK: Sky Sports 2

Australia: Network 10

South Africa: Supersport

Team News


Squad: Henriques (c), Hughes, Roy, Billings, Haddin (wk), Mennie, O'Keefe,Silk, Abbott, Bollinger, Botha, Conway, Dwarshuis


Squad: Paine (c), Short, Sangakkara (wk), Bailey, Christian, Michael, Kingston, Tait, Boyce, Broad, Rose, Webster, Wells