Instant messaging app WhatsApp's recent feature "Delete for Everyone" feature is found tobe ineffective as it can remain active elsewhere in the device to be visible for recipients.

Android blogger Android Jefe from Spain, who has detected the faux pas said the deleted messages are present in the notification log of the device, which can be accessed by recipients. "We found that the messages are stored in the notification register of the Android system. So, it's just a matter of entering that record to see the messages that the other person deleted," he wrote on his blog.

It means any recipient can access deleted WhatsApp messages sent from a third-party app called Notification History which can be downloaded from Google Play. Once downloaded, it provides for search in the Android notification log. Even other apps such as Nova Launcher provide this feature, said reports.

How to access:

Only devices running Android 7.0 and above can support this trick. Install the Notification History application. Long press the home screen, then tap on Widgets > Activities > Settings > Notification log.

On the system's notification log or on Android Settings widget, the access option leads to the notification log. The trick works on any Android device.

On the flip side, the messages in notification log remain saved until the device is restarted. Once restarted, the messages log gets wiped out.

Another disappointing feature of this trick is that it can only save the first 100 characters of the deleted message. Moreover, no media files can be recovered.