West Indies vs England, 1st ODI: How to watch live on TV, preview and possible XI

West Indies need to win the ODI series 4-0 in order to clinch an automatic qualification for 2019 World Cup.

England vs West Indies - International T20
England vs West Indies - International T20 Reuters

Match: England v West Indies, 1st ODI

Date: 19 September

Time: 11:30 am GMT/ 5:00 pm IST/ 12: 30 pm BST

Venue: Old Trafford, Manchester


West Indies will play their first match of the ODI series against England on 19 September, at Old Trafford, Manchester. The Caribbean team desperately need to win the series, as they don't want to miss the automatic qualification for the 2019 World Cup.

Both teams have played a Twenty20 international on 16 September at Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street. While West Indies scored 176, England failed to chase the target and the visitors registered a win by 21 runs in the shorter format of the game.

According to World Cup qualification rules apart from the host country England, the top seven ODI teams will qualify directly. West Indies is currently ranked No.9 in the world in the limited overs and they need to clicnh the series by 4-0 or 5-0 against the Three Lions to get the direct qualification advantage.

The Tuesday's match will be more interesting, as two top West Indies batsman Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels will join the ODI squad after a lengthy absence.

Ben Stokes and Moeen Ali, two English all-rounders will also join his team. On the other hand, the 22-year-old Tom Curran could be in the English squad for his debut match.

Along with England captain Eoin Morgan there are several players who will play against West Indies. Jonny Bairstow, the English wicket-keeper will play with the first squad along with Joe Root, Jos Buttler, Adil Rashid, Jake Ball and Liam Plunkett, Alex Hales..

Broadcasters and Live Streaming:

UK: Sky Sports cricket

India: Star Sports

Live Streaming: Hotstar provides live streaming of the match in India.

Possible XI

England: Alex Hales, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Tom Curran, Jake Ball, Liam Plunkett..

West Indies: Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Marlon Samuels, Shai Hope (wk), Kyle Hope, Rovman Powell, Jason Holder (c), Jason Mohammed, Alzarri Joseph, Jerome Taylor, Kesrick Williams