Virat Kohli takes over as captain as India announce squads for England ODIs, T20Is

Yuvraj Singh returns to both the squads while MS Dhoni will play as wicketkeeper-batsman.

MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli
MS Dhoni will play as wicketkeeper-batsman in the upcoming series Reuters

Virat Kohli has been named the captain of the Indian One Day International and Twenty20 international squads for the upcoming England series at home following MS Dhoni's decision to quit captaincy.

The World Cup-winning skipper announced he was relinquishing captaincy earlier this week and Kohli was the clear favourite to take over from Dhoni. The Board of Control for Cricket in India confirmed the move when the selection committee announced the ODI and T20I squads on Friday.

Notably, England, who were defeated 4-0 in the recently concluded Test series, will return to India post their Christmas break and will be engaged in a three match ODI (from 15 January) and T20I (from 26 January) series.

Veteran Indian all-rounder Yuvraj Singh has also found a place in the ODI and T20 teams. All-rounder Suresh Raina has also earned a recall to the T20I squad. Dhoni has been named as wicketkeeper-batsman in both the squads but he has competition from the likes of uncapped wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant in the shortest format.

Injured opener Rohit Sharma is absent from both the squads but Shikhar Dhawan has been retained in the ODI unit. Top-ranked Test spinners, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, who were rested for the New Zealand limited-overs series, have made their way back into the squads.

Also, Umesh Yadav has returned to the ODI fold while veteran Ashish Nehra will be leading the bowling attack in T20Is.

ODI Squad

Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav

T20I Squad

Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, Mandeep Singh, MS Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra