Perth Scorchers v Adelaide Strikers, livestream: Where to watch BBL 2016/17 live online, TV listings

Strikers lost their tournament opener against Brisbane Heat at home.

Mitchell Johnson BBL
Can Johnson make a mark in BBL? Reuters

Match: Perth Scorchers v Adelaide Stirkers

Date: 23 December, Friday

Time: 6:15pm SGT/3:45pm IST/10:15am GMT

Competition: Big Bash League 2016/17

Venue: Western Australian Cricket Association (WACA), Perth

TV Channel: Star cricket will provide live TV coverage of the match.

Live Streaming: Hotstar, Sky Go


The stage is set for the Big Bash League debut of one of the most successful Australian pacers in the recent times - Mitchell Johnson. And there is no better place than the WACA to do it as the Perth turf has always had something to offer for the quicks.

Johnson's Perth Scorchers take on Adelaide Strikers in the second game of the season's first double header on Friday. Apart from the retired Aussie paceman, England batsman Ian Bell is also in line for BBL debut. The prolific run-getter, who is now finding it difficult to break into the limited-overs team, will target a good stint Down Under to prove his credentials.

The Adam Voges-led side, who made the semi-final last season, have it in them to repeat or go a step further this season. With all-rounders of the likes of Mitchell Marsh, Ashton Agar, Perth also has batting firepower in Cameron Bancroft and Michael Klinger to open the campaign on a high. England's David Wiley, with his ability to bowl with variety, will be key to their chances.

On the other hand, Brad Hodge-led Adelaide Strikers succumbed to a batting onslaught from Brisbane Heat as they lost their tournament opener by 10 runs. On a flat deck, their pacers, including Ben Laughlin and Kane Richardson were taken to the cleaners by Brendon McCullum and Alex Ross.

Sam Dunk, who lit up the ongoing season with a 43-ball 85 in a losing cause, will be key to Strikers' campaign. They will be well served if Kieron Pollard, who shone with the ball against the Heat, decides to do the trick with the bat as well.

TV Schedule

Singapore: Star Cricket

India: Star Sports

US: Willow TV

UK: Sky Sports 2

Australia: Network 10

South Africa: Supersport

Team News


Squad: Voges (c), Bancroft, Bell, Whiteman (wk), Klinger, Marsh, Johnson, Agar, Richardson, Turner, Valente, Tye, Willey


Squad: Hodge (c), Dunk (wk), Head, Neser, O'Connor, Pollard, Richardson, Smith, Stanlake, Weatherald, Jordan, Laughlin, Lehmann