New Zealand vs South Africa, 1st Test: Live streaming information, TV listings, team news and preview

The first Test of the three-match series will be played at the University Oval in Dunedin from Wednesday.

Kagiso Rabada
It will be a battle between the two teams' pacers in Dunedin Reuters

New Zealand host South Africa in the first of a three-match Test series at the University Oval in Dunedin from Wednesday.

The hosts will look to get back to winning ways after losing the one-off T20I match and the five-match ODI series 3-2 to South Africa in the ongoing tour. History also is very much against Kane Williamson's men as the Black Caps have not won a single Test against South Africa since April 2004.

South Africa are heading into the Test series after blanking Sri Lanka 3-0 at home. They also have beaten Australia comprehensively Down Under late last year and have been among the finest travelling sides in the last decade, losing only one series in India in 2015.

The absence of AB de Villiers, who has opted out of the series, has made their middle order fragile with JP Duminy and Temba Bavuma not among the best of forms. However, bankable opener Stephen Cook along with Hashim Amla and skipper Faf du Plessis are expected to lead the batting show.

New Zealand will also miss Martin Guptill, who made a blistering 180 in the recently concluded ODI series. A lot of pressure will be on their top-order, especially Jeet Raval and Tom Latham, who will have to face the South African pace trio of Morne Morkel, Kagiso Rabada and Vernon Philander. A lot will depend on their seasoned campaigners Ross Taylor and Williamson to deliver the goods.

The battle will be between the two pace batteries at the University Oval and New Zealand will hoping their pacers - Trent Boult, Tim Southee and Neil Wagner - help rewrite their poor record against Du Plessis' men.

TV Schedule

New Zealand: Sky Sport 1

Australia: Fox Sports 2

South Africa: Supersport

UK: Sky Sports

MIddle East: OSN Sports

Team News

New Zealand

Possible XI: Kane Williamson (c), TOm Latham, Jeet Raval, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling (wk), James Neesham, Neil Wagner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult

South Africa

Possible XI: Faf du Plessis (c), Stephen Cook, Dean Elgar, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock (wk), Temba Bavuma, Vernon Philander, Keshav Maharaj, Morne Morkel, Kagiso Rabada