Melbourne Renegades v Melbourne Stars, BBL 2016/17: Live streaming information, TV listings and team news

Stars need a win to inject life to their BBL 2016/17 campaign.

Brad Hogg
Veteran Hogg has been a key member of the Renegades' side Reuters

Date: 7 January, Saturday

Time: 4:10pm SGT/1:40pm IST/8:10am GMT

Competition: Big Bash League 2016/17

Venue: Docklands Stadium, Melbourne

TV Channel: In Singapore, Star Cricket will provide the live TV coverage for the match.

Live streaming: Hotstar


Melbourne Renegades clinched glory on New Year's day by beating their cross-city rivals Stars by seven runs in the ongoing season's first Melbourne derby.

Skipper Aaron Finch had an unusual opening partner in Sunil Narine but the duo did the job with a quick-fire opening stand after which Cameron White and Tom Cooper provided the late surge. Stars never looked comfortable in chase of D/L reduced target of 159. Brad Hogg starred with the ball for Renegades with three wickets from four overs.

Come Saturday, the Stars are reeling at the bottom of the table, a place above defending champions Sydney Thunder, against whom David Hussey's men lost on Wednesday. English import Eoin Morgan hit a last ball six to seal a six-wicket win for the Thunder, which was also their first win of the tournament.

Except leg-spinner Adam Zampa, none of the other bowlers were able to keep the scoring rate down as the Thunder gunned down a 167-run target. Despite having some of the biggest names in Twenty20 cricket of the likes of Kevin Pietersen, Glenn Maxwell, James Faulkner and Luke Wright, the Stars have not combined as a unit well.

However, Pietersen's return to form will boost the morale of the struggling Stars, who will be looking for a win and keep their chances of making the semi-final alive. The England batsman struck a 37-ball 60 in a losing cause and stitched a solid stand with in-form Wright, who is the top-scorer for the side with 118 runs so far.

A win on Saturday will give Stars the much-needed spark in the tournament, both teams will look to collect as many points before their big stars leave on international duty.

TV Schedule

Singapore: Star Cricket

India: Star Sports

US: Willow TV

UK: BT Sport 2

Australia: Network 10

South Africa: Supersport

Team News


Squad: Finch (c), Ferguson, Cooper, White, Harris, Hogg, Narine, Nevill (wk), Rimmington, Tremain, Short, Doherty, Siddle, Wade, Winter, Pattinson


Squad: Hussey (c), Pietersen, Beer, Gulbis, Harper, Maxwell, Quiney, Stoinis, Wright, Zampa, Coleman, Boland, Faulkner, Hilfenhaus

This article was first published on January 7, 2017