Malaysia vs Great Britain, Sultan Azlan Shah Cup hockey 2017: Live streaming information, TV listings, team news and start time

Malaysia host Great Britain in their third match of the ongoing tournament in Ipoh on Tuesday.

Faizal Saari
File photo of Malaysia's Faizal Saari (L) Reuters

Malaysia host Great Britain in their third round-robin group match of 2017 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup at the Azlan Shah Stadium in Ipoh on Tuesday.

The hosts are heading into the match on the back of a crushing 6-1 defeat to defending champions Australia on 30 April whereas Great Britain edged past Japan 5-3 in their last match of the tournament on Sunday.

Malaysia, with only a single point from two outings so far, are struggling at the bottom of the table and they badly need a win to keep their chances of making it to the final alive. Having conceded seven and found the back of the net only twice, Mohd Shukri Mutalib's men will be looking to overturn their fortunes but a stiff test against the third-placed team awaits them.

After opening their campaign with a disappointing 1-1 draw against Japan, whom they had beaten twice last year, Malaysia, who finished fourth last year, were hurt more as Tom Craig and Trent Mitton scored a hat-trick each as they slumped agaisnt Australia. A solitary consolation goal came from Faizal Saari in the 42 minute, but the Malaysians failed to convert quite a few penalty corners to let themselves down.

Malaysia have beaten Great Britain only twice in 23 meetings in the past and their coach Stephen van Huizen reportedly acknowledges the need for a better performance from the hosts.

On the other hand, Bobby Crutchley's side, who are tied on points with leaders Australia and second-placed India, will look to grab the top-spot with a win today and the visitors are well-placed to collect full points, given the two teams' recent form.

TV Schedule

India: Star Sports 2

Australia: Fox Sports

Malaysia: Astro Arena, Fox Sports

New Zealand: Sky Sport

Singapore: Fox Sports

Team News


Squad: Samsul, Jalil, Fitri, Faizal, Syed, Mutalib, Ashari, Noor, Subramiam, Rahim, Jali, Hassan, Hasan, Othman, Nik, Jazlan, Saabah

Great Britain

Squad: Gibson, Willards, Weir, Forsyth, Sloan, Ward, Gleghorne, Roper, Middleton, Creed, Goodfield, Carson, Wyver, Griffiths, Gall, Sanford, Griffiths J, Kyriakides