Malaysia v South Korea, 2016 Asian Hockey Championship 3rd place match: Where to watch live and preview

In the third place match Malaysia face South Korea on Sunday at the Wisma Belia Stadium at 6pm.

Malaysian hockey team
File photo of Malaysia Men's hockey team Reuters

Match: Malaysia v South Korea, 3rd place match

Date: 30 October, Sunday

Time: 6:00 pm SGT/3:30 pm IST/11: am BST

Competition: Asian Hockey Champions Trophy 2016

Venue: Wisma Belia Hockey Stadium, Kuantan, capital of Pahang state in Malaysia

TV Channel: In Singapore, the live TV coverage of the final clash between India and Pakistan will be on Fox Sports 2.

Live Streaming: Hotstar


Malaysia's spirited run in the Asian Hockey Champions Trophy was snuffed out by Pakistan as the host nation were defeated in a scintillating penalty shootout on Saturday. Pakistan goalkeeper Amjad Ali's stellar performance under the bar denied the host nation a much deserved victory in the tournament, but they will play for honours on Sunday in the third place match against South Korea.

Malaysia have had a terrific run in the tournament until they were pipped to the post by Pakistan, who will play traditional rivals India in the final later in the evening.

Malaysia thrashed Pakistan 4-2 in the opening match of the tournament and then went on to score impressive victories against China (5-1) and Japan (7-2). They were later stopped in the tracks by India who scraped through to a 2-1 win.

In the semi final against Pakistan, Malaysia screed first as Shahril Saabah netted a regulation time penalty corner in the 18th minute. However, Pakistan drew even with the hosts by a goal from Abdul Khan in the 34th minute.

In the shootout that ensued only Firhan Ashari and Faizal Saari could convert their penalties as Faiz Jali, Shahril Saabah and Fitri Saari gave it away.

In the losers' final they face South Korea on Sunday at the Wisma Belia Hockey Stadium in Kuantan. The match begins at 6pm local time.

South Korea and Malaysia had drawn 1-1 when they played first in the tournament, on the final day of the round-robin clash, with Jeong Jun-Woo scoring. Malaysia snatched the equaliser in the 56th minute through a goal from Razie Rahim, to set up a semi final clash with Pakistan.

The gritty South Koreans were defeated in the semi final by India, in a heart-stopping penalty shootout 5-4.

TV Schedule

India: Star Sports 4

Malaysia: Fox Sports

Singapore: Fox Sports 2