Goh V Shem and Tan Wee Kiong
The world number one pair will not be in action at Sibu Reuters

Competition: Malaysia Masters 2017

Date: 17 to 22 January

Venue: Sibu Indoor Stadium, Sarawak

TV Channel: There is no live TV coverage in Singapore.

Live Streaming: BWF official Youtube channel, Hotstar

Live Updates will be available on tournament's official website.

Overview

Malaysia Masters 2017, badminton calendar's first second-tier tournament of the year, begins on 17 January at Sibu with top stars from across the globe eyeing to begin their campaign in the new year well.

The hosts though will be without their top-ranked Men's singles as well as doubles stars for the tournament as Goh V Shem, Tan Wee Kiong and Iskandar Zulkarnain have pulled out of the tournament due to injuries.

Also read

Lee Chong Wei opens up on retirement, his successor

Tan Wee Kiong found new ways to learn Goh V Shem's game at PBL 2017

While world number one doubles pairing of Goh and Wee Kiong were primed for success after their remarkable 2016 season, the latter revealed he had suffered a minor injury right after his Premier Badminton League (PBL) stint in India. Top seeds Chan Peng Soon-Goh Liu Ying have also withdrawn from the competition, which will also be without defending men's singles star Lee Chong Wei.

World number nine Ng Ka Long Angus, who won the Hong Kong Open last year, is the Men's singles top seed while India's Saina Nehwal, who is heading into the tournament after a good show in PBL, is the Women's singles top seed. Malaysia's teenager Goh Jin Wei, the winner of 2015 World Junior Championships, will also be featuring in the Women's singles.

Ajay Jayaram (Ind), Brice Leverdez (Fra), Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk (Tha) and Vincent Ki Wong (Hkg) are other top stars in the Men's singles draw.

TV Schedule

India: Star Sports 1

Seeding information

Men's singlesWomen's singles
Ng Ka Long (Hkg)Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk (Tha)Hu Yun (Hkg)

Vincent Ki Wing (Hkg)

Lee Hyun II (Kor)

Ajay Jayaram (Ind)

Tommy Sugiarto (Idn)

Jonatan Christie (Idn)

Wei Nan (Hkg)

Sony Dwi Kuncoro (Idn)

Saina Nehwal (Ind)Cheung Ngan Yi (Hkg)Beatriz Corrales (Esp)

Hsu Ya Ching (Twn)

Yip Pui Yin (Hkg)

Goh Jin Wei (Mas)

Mei Hui Chiang (Twn)

Fitriani (Idn)

Schedule of key main draw matches (all MS) on 17 January. [Qualification round begins and ends on Tuesday]

MatchesTime
1. Ng Ka Long [1] v Nathaniel Sulistyo6:30pm SGT/4pm IST/10:30am GMT
2. Jonatan Christie [8] v Lim Chi Wing6:30pm SGT/4pm IST/10:30am GMT
3. Wei Nan [10] v Shesar Hiren7:05pm SGT/4:35pm IST/11:05am GMT
4. Zulfadli Zulkiffli [13] v Abhishek Yelegar7:55pm SGT/5:25pm IST/11:55am GMT
5. Sony Dwi Kuncoro [11] v Wei Feng Chong7:20pm SGT/4:50pm IST/11:20am GMT