Hockey Junior World Cup
Representative image Reuters

Competition: Hockey Junior Men's World Cup 2016

Date: 8-18 December

Venue: Major Dhyan Chand Stadium, Uttar Pradesh, India.

TV Channel: There is no TV coverage in Singapore.

Live Streaming: The matches can be watched live online on Hotstar, Olympic Channel

Live Updates will be available on the tournament's official website.

Overview

The 11th edition of Hockey Junior World Cup will be played between 8 and 18 December at the Major Dhyan Chand Stadium in the North Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. This is the second consecutive time India is hosting the 16-team tournament after New Delhi hosted the 2013 edition of the tournament.

In the ongoing edition the 16 teams are divided into four pools and the top two teams at the end of the group stages will qualify for the quarter-final, which will be held on 14 December. While the classification matches will also take place for the team, who finished behind the top-two teams in the group stages, the semi-final matches will be played on 16 and the final on 18 December.

Germany, the most successful team in the competition with six titles so far, are also eyeing their third successive title after winning the 2009 and the 2013 edition. Australia, who are the second most successful team with a title and three runners-up finishes, are placed in Pool A.

India, who are the Asian champions, are expected to fight hard to claim their second Junior title and playing in front of their home crowd should motivate their rising stars. Good run in the four nations tournament in which they defeated Germany in October are good signs from the young unit. Their neighbours and arch rivals Pakistan, who had qualified for the tournament, are not taking part in the tournament as International Hockey Federation replaced them with Malaysia for not submitting entries before deadline.

Malaysia, who finished fourth in the last edition, have had very little time to prepare but they will look to make the most of the opportunity that came their way in the last moment.

Teams

Pool APool BPool CPool D
AustraliaNetherlandsNew ZealandIndia
South KoreaMalaysiaGermanyEngland
ArgentinaBelgiumSpainSouth Africa
AustriaEgyptJapanCanada

Schedule

DatePoolMatchTime
8 December, ThursdayPool CNew Zealand v Japan2pm SGT/11:30pm IST/6am GMT
.Pool CGermany v Spain4pm SGT/1:30pm IST/8am GMT
.Pool DEngland v South Africa6pm SGT/3:30pm IST/10am GMT
.Pool DIndia v Canada9:30pm SGT/7pm IST/1:30pm GMT
9 December, FridayPool AAustralia v South Korea12:30pm SGT/10am IST/4:30am GMT
.Pool AArgentina v Austria2:30pm SGT/12pm IST/6:30am GMT
.Pool BBelgium v Egypt4:30pm SGT/2pm IST/8:30am GMT
.Pool CSpain v Japan6:30pm SGT/4pm IST/10:30am GMT
.Pool CNew Zealand v Germany8:30pm SGT/6pm IST/12:30pm GMT
.Pool BNetherlands v Malaysia10:30pm SGT/8pm IST/2:30pm GMT
10 December, SaturdayPool ASouth Korea v Austria3:30pm SGT/1pm IST/7:30am GMT
.Pool DRussia v Canada5:30pm SGT/3pm IST/9:30am GMT
.Pool AArgentina v Australia7:30pm SGT/5pm IST/11:30am GMT
.Pool DIndia v England9:30pm SGT/7pm IST/1:30pm GMT
11 December, SundayPool CGermany v Japan3:30pm SGT/1pm IST/7:30am GMT
.Pool BBelgium v Netherlands5:30pm SGT/3pm IST/9:30am GMT
.Pool BMalaysia v Egypt7:30pm SGT/5pm IST/11:30am GMT
.Pool CSpain v New Zealand9:30pm SGT/7pm IST/1:30pm GMT
12 December, MondayPool DEngland v Canada12:30pm SGT/10am IST/4:30am GMT
.Pool AAustralia v Austria2:30pm SGT/12pm IST/6:30am GMT
.Pool ASouth Korea v Argentina4:30pm SGT/2pm IST/8:30am GMT
.Pool BNetherlands v Egypt6:30pm SGT/4pm IST/10:30am GMT
.Pool BMalaysia v Belgium8:30pm SGT/6pm IST/12:30pm GMT
.Pool DRussia v India10:30pm SGT/8pm IST/2:30pm GMT
14 December, WednesdayQuarter-finalTBD2:45pm SGT/12:15pm IST/6:45am GMT
.Quarter-finalTBD5pm SGT/2:30pm IST/9am GMT
.Quarter-finalTBD7:15pm SGT/4:45pm IST/11:15am GMT
.Quarter-finalTBD9:30pm SGT/7pm IST/1:30pm GMT
15 December, Thursday13/16 PlaceTBD2:45pm SGT/12:15pm IST/6:45am GMT
.13/16 PlaceTBD5pm SGT/2:30pm IST/9am GMT
.9/12 PlaceTBD7:15pm SGT/4:45pm IST/11:15am GMT
.9/12 PlaceTBD9:30pm SGT/7pm IST/1:30pm GMT
16 December, Friday5/8 PlaceTBD2:45pm SGT/12:15pm IST/6:45am GMT
.5/8 PlaceTBD5pm SGT/2:30pm IST/9am GMT
.Semi-finalTBD7:15pm SGT/4:45pm IST/11:15am GMT
.Semi-finalTBD9:30pm SGT/7pm IST/1:30pm GMT
17 December, Saturday15/16 PlaceTBD2:45pm SGT/12:15pm IST/6:45am GMT
.13/14 PlaceTBD5pm SGT/2:30pm IST/9am GMT
.11/12 PlaceTBD7:15pm SGT/4:45pm IST/11:15am GMT
.9/10 PlaceTBD9:30pm SGT/7pm IST/1:30pm GMT
18 December, Sunday7/8 PlaceTBD2:45pm SGT/12:15pm IST/6:45am GMT
.5/6 PlaceTBD5pm SGT/2:30pm IST/9am GMT
.3/4 PlaceTBD7:15pm SGT/4:45pm IST/11:15am GMT
.FinalTBD9:30pm SGT/7pm IST/1:30pm GMT

TV Schedule

India: Star Sports 4