India vs Denmark, Sudirman Cup 2017, live scores, team news and updates

India begin Sudirman Cup campaign against second seeds Denmark in Gold Coast on Monday.

PV Sindhu
PV Sindhu will spearhead India's campaign in Australia Reuters

India begin Sudirman Cup 2017 campaign against second seeds Denmark in Gold Coast, Australia on Monday.

In what will be a tough opening test, India, led by Rio Olympic silver medallist PV Sindhu, have to punch above their weight if they are to stand a chance against the two-time runners-up. Drawn in Group of Death - 1D, which also has former champions Indonesia, the ninth seeds cannot afford a losing start.

India have not been able to make a mark in the mixed team tournament, with group stage exits in 2013 and 2015. However, they will fight with a renewed hope this time with quite a few of their players performing well at international level.

With London Olympic bronze medallist Saina Nehwal pulling out, the onus falls on Sindhu to deliver. The 21-year-old has been in top form this season, winning the India Open and reaching the quarter-final in Singapore and at Badminton Asia Championships.

Sindhu should be able to secure a point for India tomorrow as Women's singles rubber is the weakest for the Denmark team. On the other hand, the second seeds have Rio bronze medallist Viktor Axelsen and world number four Jan O Jorgensen in their Men's singles unit.

India, on the other hand, have in-form Kidambi Srikanth, who finished as runner-up at Singapore Open last month, and Ajay Jayaram, who had beaten Axelsen in the Malaysia Superseries Premier earlier this year to lead their Men's singles campaign.

Denmark though are favourites to dominate doubles rubbers, with world number two Men's doubles pair of Mathias Boe/Carsten Mogensen, world number two Women's doubles pairing of Kamilla Juhl/Christinna Pedersen in their ranks.

Team News


Possible line-up: PV Sindhu (WS), Ajay Jayaram (MS), Manu Attri/Sumeeth Reddy (MD), Sikki Reddy/Ashwini Ponappa (WD), Sikki/Pranaav Jerry (XD)


Possible line-up: Line Kjaersfeldt (WS), Viktor Axelsen (MS), Mathias Boe/Carsten Mogensen (MD), Kamilla Juhl/Christinna Pedersen (WD), Fischer Nielsen/Pedersen (XD)