India Premier Badminton League 2017: Full schedule and updated PBL teams list

BWF Superseries winners Viktor Axelsen, Goh V Shem will take part in the tournament.

Carolina Marin
Reigning Olympic champion Marin will be the star attraction in the tournament Reuters

The second season of Premier Badminton League (PBL) will be held across six venues in India from 1 to 14 January, 2017.

The six-team tournament, hosted by the Badminton Association of India, will see top shuttlers including BWF Superseries Finals winners Goh V Shem and Viktor Axelsen, his compatriot Jan O Jorgensen, reigning Women's singles Olympic champion Carolina Marin along with other international stars. However, top-ranked trio of Lee Chong Wei, Chen Long and Lin Dan will not be part of the tournament.

India: Doctor rapes 16-year-old girl after parents fail to pay for treatment

Local stars PV Sindhu, who also won the silver in Women's singles at the Rio Games, Saina Nehwal and Kidambi Srikanth will be up against each other in what promises to be an action packed tournament. The first leg will be held in the South Indian city of Hyderabad and the final stages will be played in the capital - New Delhi.

Also read: How is Lee Chong Wei approaching 2017 season

Marin was the costliest buy in the player auction that was held last month ahead of the 2017 season. Hyderabad Hunters, who will begin their campaign at home, paid INR 61,50,000 to bag the world number two shuttler.

Full list of teams

Awadhe Warriors (Lucknow): Saina Nehwal, V Shem Goh, Srikanth Kidambi, Savitree Amitrapai, Wong Wing Ki Vincent, Rituparna Das, Bodin Isara, Markis Kido, Prajakta Sawant, Aditya Joshi

Bengaluru Blasters: Viktor Axelsen, Yoo Yeon Seong, Boonsak Ponsana, Porntip Buranaprasertsuk, Boonsak Ponsana, Ruthvika Gadde, Sourabh Verma, Pranaav Chopra, Ko Sung Hyun, Sikki Reddy,

Chennai Smashers: P V Sindhu, Tommy Sugiarto, Gabby Adcock, Tanongsak S, P Kashyap, Chris Adcock, Mads Pieler Kolding, B Sumeeth Reddy, Ramya Tulasi, Arundhati Pantawane

Delhi Aces: Jan o Jorgensen, Son Wan Ho, Jwala Gutta, Nithchaon Jindapol, Ivan Sozonov, Vladimir Ivanov, Akshay Dewalkar, K Maneesha, Akarshi Kashyap, Siril Verma

Hyderabad Hunters: Carolina Marin, Wee Kiong Tan, Chau Hoi Wah, Rajiv Ouseph, Sai Praneeth, Satwik Sairaj, Sameer Verma, Krishna Priya, Meghna J, Tan Boon Heong

Mumbai Rockets: Sung Ji Hyun, Lee Yong Dae, Nadiezda Zieba, Ajay Jayaram, Prannoy HS, Nipitphon Phusnhphupet, Manu Atri, Abhishek Yelegar, Vrushali G, Mohita Sehdev

Full Schedule

MatchDateHost city
Hyderabad v Chennai1 January, SundayHyderabad
Lucknow v Hyderabad2 January, MondayHyderabad
Bangalore v Chennai3 January, TuesdayMumbai
Delhi v Mumbai3 January, TuesdayMumbai
Hyderabad v Mumbai4 January, WednesdayMumbai
Lucknow v Delhi5 January, ThursdayLucknow
Lucknow vs Mumbai6 January, FridayLucknow
Bangalore vs Hyderabad7 January, SaturdayBangalore
Delhi vs Chennai8 January, SundayBangalore
Bangalore vs Mumbai8 January, SundayBangalore
Lucknow vs Bangalore9 January, MondayBangalore
Mumbai vs Chennai10 January, TuesdayChennai
Lucknow v Chennai11 January, WednesdayChennai
Delhi vs Hyderabad12 January, ThursdayNew Delhi
Semi-final 1 and 213 January, FridayNew Delhi
Final14 January, SaturdayNew Delhi