Great Britain v New Zealand, Sultan Azlan Shah Cup hockey 2017: Live streaming information, TV listings, team news and preview

Third-placed Britain take on fourth-placed New Zealand in Ipoh on Friday.

Mark Gleghorne
Mark Gleghorne scored the only goal for Great Britain in their 2-1 loss to Australia Reuters

Great Britain take on New Zealand in their final round-robin group game of 2017 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup at the Azlan Shah Stadium in Ipoh, Malaysia on 5 May.

Both teams are tied at seven points each after winning two from four matches so far in the tournament and have a chance to make the final of the tournament.

While both Great Britain and New Zealand trail second-placed India (seven points from four games) by goal differences of one and five respectively, the former have a better chance of making it if they manage a win in the evening's first game tomorrow. However, the winner will have to wait till the last group game - between India and Malaysia - ends to know their fate in the tournament.

World number seven Great Britain are heading into the all-important tie on the back of suffering a 2-1 defeat to world number two Australia, who just need a draw in their last game against Japan tomorrow to make the final.

Trent Mitton scored his fourth goal of the tournament for Australia when he opened the scoring at the end of the third quarter yesterday. Mark Gleghorne equalised but the Men in Yellow got back the lead in the very next minute thought Matt Dawson's strike, that proved unassailable in the end.

Great Britain will have to put behind yesterday's loss and buckle up against New Zealand, who have come up spirited displays in the tournament after clinching a stunning 1-1 draw against Australia.

While New Zealand, who defeated hosts Malaysia 1-0 on Wednesday, will be looking for another win, Great Britain need to win big to leapfrog India's goal-difference and stand a chance of playing the gold medal match.

Team News

Great Britain

Squad: Gibson, Willards, Weir, Forsyth, Sloan, Ward, Gleghorne, Roper, Middleton, Creed, Goodfield, Carson, Wyver, Griffiths, Gall, Sanford, Griffiths J, Kyriakides

New Zealand

Squad: Bennett, Brydon, Miskimmin, Ross, Joyce, Lane, Creffier, Keaney, Shaw, Manchester, Russsell, Elder, Panchia, Mitai-Wells, Jenness, Newman, Muir, Wilcox

This article was first published on May 4, 2017