Geylang International v Tampines Rovers, S.League 2017: How to watch live, match time, team news and preview

Struggling Tampines would want to get back to winning ways on their trip to Jalan Besar Stadium.

Madhu Mohana
Madhu is likely to miss Tampines' visit to the Jalan Besar Stadium on Saturday

Geylang International host Tampines Rovers in the first Eastern Derby of the 2017 S.League season at Jalan Besar Stadium on Saturday.

The Stags are heading into the game on the back of a 2-1 defeat to Philippines' Hanoi FC in the 2017 AFC Cup, which all but ended their chances of making it past the group stages of the continental tournament. On the other hand, the Eagles played out a 1-1 draw against Warriors FC in their last league match, which was played on 10 March.

Fatigue might be the biggest hurdle for Juergen Raab and his men as they prepare themselves to play their third consecutive match in a week's time. Tampines badly need a win to get their season right back on track as the fourth-placed team have only two wins from four matches this season and are facing pressure from fifth-placed Geylang and sixth-placed Brunei DPMM, both of whom have a game each in hand.

Also, Tampines have not been able to stitch even two consecutive wins this season and have won only three in nine matches (all competitions). Raab will have selection issues as well as their key players, including skipper Madhu Mohana, striker Khairul Amri, midfielder Ismadi Mukhtar and custodian Izwan Mahbud are nursing injuries.

On the other hand, Geylang, who lost their tournament opener against Hougang United, won their next game Balestier Khalsa before sharing points with Warriors, against whom Tampines lost their last league game.

Having not beaten the Tampines in their last five meetings, Hasrin Jailani's men would want to put one against Tampines and leapfrog the five-time winners to the fourth-spot on the table.

Team News


Possible XI: Buhari, Hameed, Rahman, Ichikawa, Aplin, Halim, Sulaiman, Ghani, Min Thi, Coto, Anuar


Possible XI: Sim; Mukhtar, Mohana, Bennett, Shah; Megumi, Son, Sulaiman, Ali; Dzoni, Rahim