FIFA to start new Club World Cup by 2021

Authorities from the world soccer governing body are planning to start the Super Club World Cup by 2021 which might just become the most popular football tournament after FIFA World Cup, at the same time bringing an end to the Confederations Cup.

FIFA Club World Cup
Real Madrid in 2016 FIFA Club World Cup Reuters

FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association), the world soccer governing body is planning for a 'Super Club World Cup' by 2021, which might become one of the biggest football tournaments similar to FIFA World Cup. This tournamnet might bring an end to the Confederations Cup.

The FIFA President, Gianni Infantino had given the clue about their plans on Club World cup during 2017 FIFA Council Meeting in Kolkata, India.

"We have to look into the future of this competition (Club World Cup) in the world. The world means not only Europe or South America but the whole world and that's why it is good to debate and discuss different ideas, different models and the challenge," he said.

"Obviously when you speak about club football and World Cup, in this respect in a penalty of how many teams will participate and so on is how and where to fit it into the International match calendar. This is, of course, a challenge but we are there to tackle challenges," the 47-year-old further added.

During the meeting, Infantino also mentioned, "We have to look at abolishing some competitions in order to add another one." This statement can be taken as a hint for the removal of Confederations Cup in future.

"We will come back in March (2018) at the council and decide what to do for going forward," Infantino stated further. According to the Spanish newspaper Marca, many of the characteristics of the tournament have already been sorted.

This world-class tournament will feature 24 teams from five continents. There will be eight groups and the best from each group will play the quarterfinal matches. To qualify for this tournament there are specific qualification criteria for each continent.

If the qualification closes now, then the scenario will be:


  • Last four winners of UEFA Champions League
  • Last four finalists of UEFA Champions League
  • Top four UEFA coefficient-ranked club

If the qualification closes now then the qualification list will have Real Madrid in the top of the list. Real Madrid won two of the past three Champions League, followed by Barcelona who claimed the other Champions League trophy.

Then comes Atletico Madrid and Juventus, two losing teams from past Champions League. Bayern Munich, Paris Saint-Germain, Sevilla, Manchester City, Borussia Dortmund, Benfica, Arsenal and Porto will be the remaining eight clubs.

South America

The criteria are not clear for the continents. Keeping in mind the UEFA teams, those South American teams that won the last four Copa Libertadores champions along with the best Conmebol ranking will directly qualify.

  • Last four Copa Libertadores champions.
  • Best Conmebol ranked teams.

Atletico Nacional the current champion of Copa Libertadores will be in the top of the list, followed by River Plate, San Lorenzo, Atletico Mineiro and Boca Juniors.

For Africa, Asia and North America, there are no details on qualification criteria, but the Super Club World Cup will have two participants from each continent. If it includes only last two champions from each continent then, Wydad Casablanca and Mamelodi Sundowns will represent Africa.

From Asia, Urawa Red Diamonds and Jeobunk Hyundai Motors will be participating in the Club World Cup. The Pachuca and America will represent North America.

On the other hand, it is yet to be decided whether Oceania will have a fixed place or it needs to go through a playoff against another continent to capture the 24th berth. However, according to the current winners from Oceania, Auckland City will be participating as the 24th team.