Chong Wei Feng
The Malaysian shuttler needs to be at his best on Thursday Reuters

Match: Chong Wei Feng v Sameer Verma

Date: 26 January, Thursday

Time: 7:10pm SGT/4:40pm IST/11:10 am GMT (onwards)

Competition: Syed Modi International Badminton Championships 2017

Venue: UP Badminton Association, Lucknow

TV Channel: In Singapore, there is no live TV coverage of the match.

Live Streaming: BWF official Youtube channel, Hotstar

Live Updates will be available on tournament's official website.

Overview

Chong Wei Feng is in for a tough challenge in his third round clash against local shuttler Sameer Verma. The 10th seed eased past two unseeded Indian shuttlers, Harshit Aggarwal and Siddharth Jakhar, in straights sets in his first rounds.

The Malaysian shuttler, in the absence of Lee Chong Wei, was one of the key Men's singles players for his country's campaign at home at the Malaysia Masters earlier this month. However, after getting past two Indonesia shuttlers in the first two rounds, the world number 42 slipped in the third against eventual semi-finalist Anthony Ginting.

Wei Feng needs to be at his best if he is to avoid another third-round exit, in India this time. His opponent Sameer has been in good knick in the recent past and is among the rising stars in the Men's singles category.

Sameer reached his maiden Superseries finals when he clashed with Ng Ka Long at the Hong Kong Open last year after crushing Wei Feng in the quarter-final of the competition. The world number 35 also has never lost a match against the Malaysian as he holds a 2-0 head-to-head advantage.

Warming up to the ongoing season with Premier Badminton League stint, Sameer looks set to progress past his Malaysian opponent on Thursday in Lucknow.

TV Channel

India: Star Sports