Chinese Grand Prix 2017: Live streaming information, TV listings, F1 race time and qualifying review

Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel will start from front row in Shanghai on Sunday.

Lewis Hamilton
Hamilton will start from the front row of the grid on Sunday Reuters

Lewis Hamilton raced to pole position for the 2017 Chinese Grand Prix after setting the pace in the qualifying sessions at the Shanghai International Circuit on Saturday.

The Brit pipped Sebastian Vettel by just 0.184s after a dominant run by Ferrari in the third practise session and first half of qualifying race. Notably, it was the Australian Grand Prix winner, who set the fastest lap in Q1, after which Kimi Raikkonen dominated Q2 in the end to concede the pole to the Mercedes driver.

Mercedes' new-recruit Valtteri Bottas was not far behind as Vettel managed to only pip the Finnish driver by 0.001s. The drivers were disappointed after rain and fog washed out Friday's practice sessions but after coming out on Saturday, the battle between Ferrari and Mercedes was tight, as seen in Australia and in Barcelona - during pre-season testing.

Red Bull though suffered a massive blow as Max Verstappen suffered an engine problem and thus will start from the last row. However, Daniel Ricciardo saved the team's blushes by finishing behind Ferrari's Raikkonen at fifth.

Williams also did not disappoint with Felipe Massa setting a fastest lap at 1:33.507s finishing ahead of Renault's Nico Hulkenberg and Force India's Sergio Perez at sixth.

Rain-hit race to test drivers

A lot of focus will also be on the weather in Shanghai tomorrow as a wet race is on the cards. Hamilton has reportedly revealed that he will be ready for a rain-hit race despite not having enough experience with Pirelli's new wet tyre compounds. Also, the drivers have not got used to driving under such conditions after the cars became leaner and meaner at the start of the new season.

TV Schedule

Malaysia: Fox Sports

US: NBC Sports

UK: Sky Sports

Australia: Fox Sports

India: Star Sports

Japan: Fuji TV Next

Portugal: SportTV

Brazil: SporTV

Switzerland: SRG

Korea: SBS Sports

Russia: Sport 1

Middle East: beIN Sports

This article was first published on April 8, 2017