China vs Hong Kong, Sudirman Cup 2017: Live streaming information, TV listings, team news and preview

Top seeds China take on ninth seeds Hong Kong in the tournament opener on Sunday.

Chen Long
Chen Long won the Badminton Asia Championships last month Reuters

10-time champions China begin their 2017 Sudirman Cup campaign against Hong Kong in the first Group 1 A tie in Gold Coast, Australia on Sunday.

The badminton powerhouse, who have won six titles on the trot, have headed to Australia with a strong squad at their disposal. Having lost in the semi-final stage of the inaugural Badminton Asia Championships earlier this year, China will be motivated to come up with a strong showing.

China will start as favourites to earn a win against the ninth-seeded team tomorrow. With world number five Shi Yuqi, along with Olympic champions Chen Long and Lin Dan available for the Men's singles rubber, the top seeds are hardly going to be challenged. World number 10 Ng Ka Long, who will be the likely candidate for Hong Kong, will face a stiff opening-round test.

Apart from top-10 shuttlers He Binjiao and Sun Yu, China also have reigning junior world champion Chen Yufei to choose from the Women's singles unit. Either of them are likely to add to the team's tally when they face either Cheung Ngan Yi or Yip Pui Yin in the Women's singles rubber.

World number one pairing of Jia Yifan and Chen Qingchen are the overwhelming favourites to win the Women's doubles rubber. China will have a tough time deciding between Zheng Siwei and Liu Yuchen for partnering Li Junhui in the Men's doubles category. Notably, Li/Liu pairing won last month's Badminton Asia Championships but Li/Zheng combination did not disappoint at Badminton Asia Championships.

Team News


Squad: Chen Long, Lin Dan, Shi Yuqi, Li Junhui, Fu Haifeng, Liu Yuchen, Zhang Nan, Zhen Siwei, Lu Kai, Chen Yufei, He Bingjiao, Sun Yu, Bao Yixin, Chen Qingchen, Jia Yifan, Li Yinhui, Huang Doonping, Huang Yaqiong, Tang Jinhua

Hong Kong

Squad: Ng Ka Long, Hu Yun Vincent Ki Wong, Him Cheuk, Yiu Cheuk, Chun Hei Reginald, Chin Chung, Chun Man, Yip Pui Yin, Chau Hoi Wah, Cheung Ngan Yi, Fan Ka Yan, Ng Tsz Yau, Poon Lok Yan, Tse Ying Suet, Yeung Nga Ting