China Open Superseries badminton 2016: Where to watch live, TV listings, schedule and preview

In the absence of Lee Chong Wei, Chen Long will look to go the distance in the tournament.

Chen Long
Chen will be back in action for the first time after Rio Olympics Reuters

Competition: China Open Superseries 2016

Date: 15 November, Tuesday to 20 November, Sunday

Venue: Haixia Olympic Sport Center, Fuzhou

TV Coverage: In SIngapore there is no TV coverage of China Open.

Live Streaming: BWF official YouTube channel


Badminton action shifts to China for the second last Superseries tournament of the 2016 season - the China Open, which will be held at the Haixia Olympic Sport Center from 15 to 20 November.

Despite the absence of two of the top-ranked badminton stars - Lin Dan and Chen Long - from their country at the recently concluded French Open Superseires, Chinese shuttlers Shi Yuqi and He Bingjiao stamped their authority by winning the Men's and Women's singles titles.

However, both the French Open and Denmark Open, held in October, witnessed the failure of top seeds. Lee Chong Wei stumbled in the quarter-final in France and pulled out of the latter tournament due to injury.

The top-ranked Malaysian has confirmed that he will be missing the upcoming event. In the Women's singles, Carolina Marin has faced injury issues after her semi-final exit in Denmark and she will also give her China trip a miss.

On the flipside, defending Olympic singles champion will be back in action for the first time after his dream run in Rio de Janeiro. Chen takes on Indonesia's Tommy Sugiarto on Wednesday.

Also making a return from an injury layoff in the Women's singles category is 2014 China Open winner Saina Nehwal, who faced a group stage exit at Rio.

TV Schedule

India: Star Sports 4

Seeding information

Men's singles

  1. Lee Chong Wei (Mas)
  2. Chen Long (Chn)
  3. Viktor Axelsen (Dnk)
  4. Jan O Jorgensen (Dnk)
  5. Tian Houwei (Chn)
  6. Chou Tien Chen (Twn)
  7. Son Wan Ho (Kor)
  8. Hans-Kristian Vittinghus (Dnk)

Women's singles

  1. Carolina Marin (Esp)
  2. Ratchanok Intanon (Idn)
  3. Nozomi Okuhara (Jpn)
  4. Saina Nehwal (Ind)
  5. Tai Tzu Ying (Twn)
  6. Sung Ji Hyun (Kor)
  7. PV Sindhu (Ind)
  8. Sun Yu (Chn)

Schedule of key matches on 16 November, Wednesday

Time: Matches start from 10am SGT/7:30am IST/2am GMT

Men's Singles

Chen Long [2] v Tommy Sugiarto

Viktor Axelsen [3] v Boonsak Ponsana

Jan O Jorgensen [4] v Wang Tzu Wei

Tian Houwei [5] v Hsu Jen Hao

Chou Tien Chen [6] v Qiao Bin

Son Wan Ho [7] v Shi Yuqi

Hans-Kristian Vittinghus [8] v Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk

Women's Singles

Ratchanok Intanon [2] v Akane Yamaguchi

Nozomi Okuhara [3] v Yip Pui Yin

Saina Nehwal [4] v Porntip Buranaprasertsuk

Tai Tzu Ying [5] v Aya Ohori

Sung Ji Hyun [6] v Nitchaon Jindapol

PV Sindhu [7] v Lee Chia Hsin

Sun Yu [8] v Busanan Omgbamrungphan

Full Schedule of the 2016 China Open can be found here.