PV Sindhu and Carolina Marin
Marin and Sindhu resume battle for supremacy in Dubai Reuters

Competition: Dubai World Superseries Finals 2016

Date: 14-18, December

Venue: Hamdan Sports Complex, Dubai

TV Channel: There is no live TV coverage in Singapore.

Live Streaming: Hotstar, BWF's official YouTube channel.

Overview

Eight top-ranked Men's and Women's singles players along with their doubles partners are in Dubai for the 2016 World Superseries Finals, which will be played from 14 to 18 December.

The eight shuttlers in each category are divided into two groups of four each. The group stages will have round-robin matches, in which each player will play three games. The top two from each group will progress to the semi-final, starting 17 December.

Also read

In the Men's singles Denmark's Jan O Jorgensen is the top seed for the year-ending tournament and the China Open 2016 champion has been drawn in Group A along with Tian Houwei (China), Marc Zwiebler (Germany) and Hu Yun (Hong Kong), who has replaced reigning Olympic champion Chen Long, who declined a wildcard entry for the tournament.

Malaysia's Lee Chong Wei, who is also a four-time winner, is upbeat after winning the BWF Player of the Year Award. However, he will face the heat in the group stages itself as he will be facing Son Wan Ho (Korea), Hong Kong Open winner Ka Long Angus (Hong Kong) and Olympic bronze medallist Viktor Axelsen.

The Women's singles is expected to be more competitive as all the in-form female shuttlers are eyeing the year-ending title. The battle between Rio Olympic finalists Carolina Marin and PV Sindhu will be in focus as they have been drawn in the same group alongside Sun Yu and Akane Yamaguchi. Group A will be headlined by recently-crowned world number one Tai Tzu Ying.

Seeding Information

Men's singlesWomen's singles
Jorgensen (Den) [1]Tai (Tpe) [1]
Son (Kor) [2]Yamaguchi (Jpn) [2]
Houwei (Chn) [¾]Sung (Kor) [3/4]
Ka Long (Hkg) [¾]Sun (Chn) [3/4]
Axelsen (Den) [5/8]Intanon (Tha) [5/8]
Zwiebler (Ger) [5/8]Bingjiao (Chn) [5/8]
Chong Wei (Mas) [5/8]Marin (Esp) [5/8]
Yun (Hkg) [5/8]Sindhu (Ind) [5/8]

TV Listings

India: Star Sports HD 2

Tournament Schedule

DateCategoryGroupMatchTime
14 December, WednesdayMen's singlesAHouwei v Zwiebler1pm SGT/10:30am IST/5am GMT
.Men's singlesBSon v Chong Wei5pm SGT/2:30pm IST/9am GMT (onwards)
.Men's singlesAJorgensen v Hu Yun5pm SGT/2:30pm IST/9am GMT (onwards)
.Men's singlesBNg Ka Long v Axelsen11pm SGT/8:30pm IST/3pm GMT
.Women's singlesASung v Intanon1pm SGT/10:30am IST/5am GMT
.Women's singlesATai v Bingjiao1pm SGT/10:30am IST/5am GMT
.Women's singlesBSun v Marin5pm SGT/2:30pm IST/9am GMT (onwards)
.Women's singlesBYamaguchi v Sindhu5pm SGT/2:30pm IST/9am GMT (onwards)
15 December, ThursdayMen's singlesAJorgensen v Zwiebler1pm SGT/10:30am IST/5am GMT
.Men's singlesAHouwei v Hu Yun1pm SGT/10:30am IST/5am GMT
.Men's singlesBNg Ka Long v Chong Wei4:30pm SGT/2pm IST/8:30am GMT
.Men's singlesBSon v Axelsen6:30pm SGT/4pm IST/10:30am GMT
.Women's singlesASung v Bingjiao1:50pm SGT/11:20am IST/5:50am GMT
.Women's singlesATai v Intanon5:50pm SGT/3:20pm IST/9:50am GMT
.Women's singlesBSun v Sindhu8pm SGT/5:30pm IST/12pm GMT
.Women's singlesBYamaguchi v Marin11pm SGT/8:30pm IST/3pm GMT