Wonder Girls disbanded, farewell single on Feb 10 to mark 10th anniversary

Their final single "Thank You For Being So Wonderful" will be released on February 10, 2017.

  • Updated
Wonder Girls
Wonder Girls' contracts with JYP Entertainment expiring in January Facebook/wondergirlsworld

Kpop's girl group Wonder Girls has officially disbanded, its management agency JYP Entertainment announced in a press statement. The group's current line-up consists of Yubin, Yeeun, Sunmi and Hyerim. Their final single "Thank You For Being So Wonderful" will be released on February 10, 2017.

"After a time of discussion, we have decided on the disbandment of Wonder Girls. Out of the members, Yubin and Lim have renewed their contracts with JYP Entertainment. They plan to show new sides of them in a variety fields including music, acting, and MC-ing. Yenny and Sunmi will, unfortunately, be leaving the label, as they wished to walk new paths. To repay the love to the fans who's been by their side with an unchanging love for the past 10 years, they plan to release one last digital single on their 10th anniversary on February 10," the agency said as quoted by AllKPop.

The agency also thanked fans worldwide who've been together with Wonder Girls' throughout their 10-year journey. "We will continue to support the improved future of the remaining and parting members," it added. According to Soompi, the members of the group left farewell messages for fans in a video.

Yeeun: "It's already been 10 years since we've been together. All the moments that we laughed, cried, and were happy and sad together went by like a kaleidoscope. Thank you for giving us memories that we'll take with us forever."

Sunmi: "A lot of things happened during these 10 years. To all the fans that supported us, trusted us, and waited for us... my heart aches, giving you sad news. I'm sorry, and thank you."

Yubin: "To Wonderful, with your never ending support and trust, Wonder Girls was so loved for 10 years. Always, with thanks, I will treasure all of our moments together."

Hyerim: "Whenever you start to miss us, I hope that our songs, filled with memories, will be of comfort to you. Though it may be hard now, we'll do our best to become a source of strength to you."

All: "Thank you, thank you, and thank you again. We were so happy. Those days were like a dream. Remember us... We are Wonder Girls."

The Wonder Girls officially debuted in early 2007 on MBC's Show! Music Core, performing "Irony", the hip-hop single from their first album, The Wonder Begins. Bands like myB, M.O.A, Kara, Speed, Rainbow, 2NE1, and 4Minute were also disbanded in 2016.

This article was first published on January 26, 2017