Revealed: Nominees for 54th Annual Daejong Film Awards

The Korean political crime thriller movie "The King" got 14 nods to lead the nominations at the 54th Daejong Film Awards, which will be held on October 25.

Deojong Film Awards
Best Film nominees (clockwise from top left) 'Taxi Driver,' 'The King,' 'Anarchist From Colony,' 'Pandora' and 'The Merciless' (Korean Film Council)

Nominees have been announced for the annual film awards, which is also known as The Grand Bell Awards.

Vying for Best Film are "The King," "Anarchist From Colony," "The Merciless" "A Taxi Driver" and the 2016 movie "Pandora."

Among them, "A Taxi Driver," which stars actor Song Kang Ho and is based on the 1980 Gwangju Uprising, is currently the No. 1 best-selling film in Korea for 2017, with 12.81 tickets sold and US$83 million in revenue.

"The King" stars Jo In Sung and Jung Woo Sung while Lee Je Hoon headlines "Anarchist From Colony," Seol Kyung Kyu stars in "The Merciless", and Kim Nam Gil and Kim Young-ae star in "Pandora."

Up for the Best Director award are Park Jung Woo, "Pandora"; Byun Sung Hyun, "The Merciless"; Lee Joon Ik, "Anarchist From Colony"; Jang Hoon, "A Taxi Driver" and Han Jae Rim, "The King."

In the acting categories, the Best Actor nominees are Seol Kyung Kyu, "The Merciless"; Song Kang Ho, "A Taxi Driver"; Lee Je Hoon, "Anarchist From Colony"; Jo In Sung, "The King"; and Han Suk Kyu, "Prison."

Gong Hyo Jin of "Missing" is up for Best Actress along with Kim Ok Bin, "The Villainess"; Yum Jung Ah, "The Mimic"; Chun Woo Hee, "One Day"; and Choi Hee Seo, "Anarchist From Colony."

Nominees for Best Supporting Actor are Kwak Do Won, "The Mayor"; Kim Yin Woo, "Anarchist From Colony"; Kim Hee Won, "The Merciless"; Bae Sung Woo, "The King" and Jung Jin Young, "Pandora."

The Best Supporting Actress award is being vied for by Kim Young Ae, "Pandora"; Kim So Jin, "The King"; Kim Hae Sook, "New Trial"; Moon So Ri, "The Mayor"; and Jeon Hye Jin, "The Merciless."

Boy band SHINee member Choi Minho, of the movie "Derailed," is nominated for Best New Actor along with Kim Joon Han, "Anarchist From Colony"; Park Seo Joon, "Midnight Runners"; Min Jin Woong, "New Trial"; and Byun Yo Han, "Will You Be There?".

Girls' Generation member Yoona is vying for Best New Actress for "Confidential Assignment" against Shin Eun Soo, "Vanishing Time: A Boy Who Returned"; Oh Ye Seol, "My Little Baby, Jaya"; Lee Soo Kyung, "Yongsoon"; and Choi Hee Seo, "Anarchist From Colony."