'Anarchist from Colony' (top) and 'Stranger'
'Anarchist from Colony' (top) and 'Stranger' KOFIC and tVN

The film "Anarchist from Colony" and the drama "Stranger" bagged the grand prizes in their respective categories in the inaugural Seoul Awards.

Winners in different categories in movies and TV were selected by judges (70 percent) and 60 citizens (30 percent).

In "Anarchist from Colony," actor Lee Je Hoon plays the role of independence activist Park Yeol, who led in organizing a group during Japan's occupation of Korea. Park died in January 1974 at age 71.

The film was released in Korea in June and had sold 2.35 million tickets and earned US$15.99 million at the box office.

On the other hand, "Stranger" won the grand prize in the TV category. Starring Jo Seung Woo and Bae Doona, the drama is about a prosecutor who works with a female detective in cases. It ran in Korea from June to July this year.

In the film category, Song Kang Ho took home the Best Actor award for the hit film "A Taxi Driver" while Na Moon Hee grabbed the Best Actress trophy for "I Can Speak."

The Best Supporting Actor and Actress awards went to Kim Joo Hyuk of "Confidential Assignment" and Lee Jung Hyun of "The Battleship Island."

Ryu Jun Yeol of "The King" won Best New Actor while Choi Hee Seo received the Best New Actress award for "Anarchist from Colony."

Girls' Generation member Yoona of "Confidential Assignment" and Siwan of "The Merciless" won the Popularity Awards while the Special Acting Award went to Kim Soo An of "The Battleship Island."

In the drama category, the Best Actor award was given to Ji Sung of the "Defendant" and Park Bo Young grabbed the Best Actress plum for "Strong Woman Do Bong Soon."

Jung Sang Hoon of "Woman of Dignity" and Honey Lee of "Rebel: Thief Who Stole The People" clinched the Best Supporting Actor and Actress awards, respectively.

The Best New Actor award went to Kim Min Suk of the "Defendant" and the Best New Actress Award went to Yoon So Hee of the "Ruler: Master of the Mask."

Winners of the Popularity Awards are Kim Sejeong of "School 2017" and Park Hyung Sik of "Strong Woman Do Bong Soon."