Pokémon GO tip and trick: How to evolve Eevee

Here's a trick on how to evolve Eevee on Pokemon GO into Espeon, Umbreon, Vaporeon, Jolteon, and Flareon.

pokemon go eevee evolution
Pokemon Eevee. Pokemon

Niantic took extra miles to spark interests back among Pokémon GO players around the globe by releasing the new update. In old Pokémon fashion, Eevee evolves with the use of special items, happiness level, and even time of the day. With the introduction of candy in Pokémon GO, evolving it becomes more convenient. Here's how to evolve Eevee into Espeon, Umbreon, Vaporeon, Jolteon, and Flareon.

How to evolve Eevee

Before one can grow Eevee into any of the five different evolutions, it has to be fed with 25 Eevee candies. A new trick, however, has been discovered to evolve this adorable Pokémon, and that is by renaming it. Rename Eevee as Sakura it into Psychic-type Espeon, Tamao into Dark-type Umbreon, Rainer into Water-type Vaporeon, Sparky into lightning-type Jolteon, and Pyro into Fire-type Flareon.

After renaming them, make sure to refresh the Pokémon GO app to see whether the evolution has taken place or not. Remember that this trick is only usable once per type of evolution, so better ensure to select the Eevee with the highest CP value to evolve into the desired type.

On Reddit, Pokémon GO players have shared that newcomers Umbreon and Espeon can also be achieved through the Buddy System. Walk one 10km, and Eevee will grow into the desired evolution, depending on which part of the day. This tactic is advantageous for Espeon and Umbreon since the renaming method only works once per evolution.

Origin of names

It may come as a surprise for the uninitiated where these names were derived. Sparky, Rainer, and Pyro are the names of the Eevee brothers from the Pokémon television franchise who showed off Ash and his friends with their Eevee evolutions. Sakura and Tamao, on the other hand, later appeared in the series.

In the meantime, Pokémon GO players still have to wait for Niantic to release the evolution of Eevee into Leafeon, Glaceon, and Sylveon. These evolutions are not part of the 80 new Johto Pokémon which were so far released by the developer.

This article was first published on July 12, 2017