Oprah Winfrey to be presented with 2018 Cecil B. DeMille

Oprah Winfrey will be bestowed with 2018 Cecil B. DeMille at the 75th Annual Golden Globes.

Opera Winfrey

The American host Oprah Winfrey who is well known for her talk show 'The Oprah Winfrey Show', will be honored with the 2018 Cecil B. DeMille at the 75th Annual Golden Globes. Each year the recipient of this prestigious award is selected by Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA).

The Cecil B. DeMille is a token bestowed to those with 'outstanding contributions' in the field of entertainment. The first woman to receive this prestigious award was Judy Garland in 1962.She received the lifetime achievement award at the young age of 39. The 63 – year old actress and philanthropist were also nominated in 1986 Golden Globes for her debut in the period drama 'The Color Purple'.

"As a global media leader, philanthropist, producer, and actress, she has created an unparalleled connection with people around the world, making her one of the most respected and admired figures today," HFPA President Meher Tatna told in a statement to NBC. He further added that "Holding titles such as Chairman, CEO, and Founder, Oprah is one of the most influential women of our time, and this honor is well deserved especially in this 75th anniversary year of the Golden Globe Awards."

Also Read: 75th Golden Globe Nominations: Check out list of TV shows, movies nominated this year

Oprah Winfrey is a ruling figure in the American media and is known internationally as well. She also owns a cable network popularly known as OWN Oprah Winfrey Network. She is one of the greatest philanthropists and has been ranked as the richest African –American in history.

Born and brought up in poverty, Winfrey went on to create history in the entertainment field. She won many accolades which include Presidential Medal of Freedom by President Barack Obama, Bob Hope Humanitarian Award and many more. She also won the Day Time Emmy Award for her outstanding talk show.

Apart from Oprah Winfrey, the prestigious award was also given to A-listers like Meryl Steep, Denzel Washington, George Clooney, Woody Alley, Jodie Foster, Morgan Freeman.