NBC's 'This Is Us' bags grand prize at Seoul International Drama Awards

The ceremony was held on September 7 in Seoul but was not broadcast live due to the ongoing strike at TV station KBS.

Seoul International Drama
Winners at the 12th Seoul International Drama Awards pose for a souvenir photo at the ceremony. Photo: Seoul International Drama Awards

"This Is Us," a TV series on NBC, won the grand prize at the 12th Seoul International Drama Awards.

The ceremony, hosted by Shin Dong Yup and actress Kim Jung Eun, was held on September 7 in Seoul but was not broadcast live due to the ongoing strike at TV station KBS.

Created by Dan Fogelman, "This Is Us" aired its first season from September 2016 to March this year and starred Mandy Moore, Milo Ventimiglia, Sterling Brown, Chrissy Metz, Justin Hartley and Susan Kelechi Watson.

"This Is Us" won the award over 28 other TV programs in the categories of TV movie, mini-series, serial drama and comedy. It previously won the People's Choice Awards' favorite new TV drama and the American Film Institute Awards' TV program of the year.

In the TV movie category, the winners are "Redemption Road" of Germany and "Red Teacher" of South Korea.

"Please, Love Me" from Belgium took the Top Excellence Award for Mini-series while "Deep Water" from Australia bagged the Excellence Award for Mini-series.

Brazil's "The Slave Mother" of Brazil was awarded the Top Excellence Award for Serial Drama while Turkey's "Brave and Beautiful" grabbed the Excellence Award.

"Fleabag" of the United Kingdom won best comedy program.

In the hallyu category, Park Bo-gum won best actor and his "Moonlight Drawn by Clouds" bagged the best Korean drama trophy. Park Bo-young was awarded best Korean drama actress for her role in "Strong Woman Do Bong Soon."

Ailee sang "I will Go to You Like the First Snow," used in "Goblin," which won the best Korean drama theme song.

The best director award went to Urs Egger of the Swiss TV movie "Gotthard" and the best screenwriter trophy was awarded to Rodica Doehnert of "Das Sacher."

Kerem Bursin of Turkey won best actor for his role in "Heart of the City" and Aleksandra Nikiforova took home the best actress award for "Anna Detective."

Special jury awards were given to "P.O.W.-Bandi Yuddh Ke" from India and "We Are One" from Taiwan.

The Asian Star Awards went to Debbie Goh of Malaysia, Gabby Concepcion of the Philippines, Sukollawat Kanarot of Thailand, Satyadeep Mishra of India and Hyunri of Japan.

Join the Discussion