Golden Disc Awards 2023: How to Watch, Date, Venue, Lineup, and More

Golden Disc Awards (GDA) 2023 will be held with a live broadcast worldwide at the Rajamangala National Stadium in Bangkok, Thailand on January 7, 2023. The annual award ceremony will feature a star-studded lineup of celebrities as presenters and performers as the organizers are planning to attract a diverse population of K-pop fans from various parts of the world.

The award show is held abroad for the first time in nearly a decade. The 26th edition of the annual event was held in Japan, the 27th in Malaysia, and the 29th in China. The Rajamangala National Stadium can accommodate nearly 50,000 people and was the host of several musical events. Artists like Ed Sheeran, Lady Gaga, and BTS have performed in this stadium.

The organizers want to focus on the achievements of k-pop and its global reach this year. Through the award show, they plan to connecting diverse music fans at home and abroad through K-pop. According to them, GDA will try to match K-pop's expansion to the global music market.

Golden Disc Awards 2023
Golden Disc Awards 2023 Twitter

"K-pop's influence is gradually expanding in the global music market. Even amidst the pandemic, K-pop has leaped and made surprising results. Golden Disc Awards is trying to match the pace of K-pop's expansion. We will let the world know of K-pop's outstanding achievements and make it so that more diverse music fans at home and abroad can connect through K-pop", the award committee shared.

Here is everything about the 37th annual Golden Disc Awards, including the date, venue, host, and Lineup.

Date, Venue, and Live Stream Details

As mentioned above, the 37th annual award show will take place at the Rajamangala National Stadium in Bangkok, Thailand, on January 7, 2023. The star-studded event will begin with a worldwide live broadcast at 8 pm KST on JTBC, JTBC 2, JTBC 4, and a digital broadcast on TikTok.

Golden Disc Awards 2022
Golden Disc Awards logo Golden Disc Awards

Hosts, Presenters, and Performers

Lee Da Hee, Sung Si Kyung, Park So Dam, and 2PM member Nichkhum will host the annual award ceremony this year. Da Hee served as a host for three years since 2020. Da Hee and Si Kyung are returning as hosts for the fourth consecutive year. The two artists gained the recognition of being the most trustworthy MC duo through their past performances. Meanwhile, So Dam will return as a host after a year, and Nichkhum will host the event for the first time.

Globally known K-pop groups and artists such as Stray Kids, ENHYPEN, Seventeen, PSY, and BTS member J-Hope will perform at the annual award ceremony. The other confirmed performing artists are the members of K-pop bands NewJeans, Le SSERAFIM, TREASURE, (G)I-DLE, IVE, BE'O, and Big Naughty. Artist Younha will also join the performers' line-up.

Nomination List

The songs and albums released between November 2021 and November 2022 are eligible for nominations. The nomination categories include Digital Daesang (Song of the Year), Disc Daesang (Album of the Year), Digital Song Bonsang, Album Bonsang, Rookie Artist of the Year, and Seezn Most Popular Artist Award. Only albums with six tracks, excluding OSTs and project songs for television programs, intros, outros, and instrumental music, were included in the nomination list for album division.

The Grand Prize (Daesang) and Main Award (Bonsang) winners will be selected based on sales count and expert panel scores -- 60 percent of the sales count and 40 percent of panel scores will be considered for selecting the winners.

Golden Disc Awards 2023
Golden Disc Awards 2023 Golden Disc Awards 2023

Golden Disc Awards 2023 Nomination List

Digital Song Division Bonsang (Main Award)

  • (G)I-DLE for TOMBOY
  • BE'O for Counting Stars (Feat. Beenzino)
  • BIG Naughty for Beyond Love (Feat. 10CM)
  • BIGBANG for Still Life
  • BLACKPINK for Pink Venom
  • GOT the beat for Step Back
  • MSG Wannabe (M.O.M) for Do you want to hear
  • NewJeans for Attention
  • Choi Ye Na for SMILEY (Feat. BIBI)
  • KyoungSeo for Dear my X
  • MeloMance's Kim Min Seok for DrunKen Confession
  • TWICE's Nayeon for POP!
  • Red Velvet for Feel My Rhythm
  • Jay Park for GANADARA (Feat. IU)
  • PSY for That That (prod. & feat. BTS's Suga)
  • IU for Drama
  • Lee Mujin for When it snows (Feat. Heize)
  • Lim Young Woong for Our Blues, Our Life
  • Girls' Generation's Taeyeon for INVU

Album Division Bonsang (Main Award)

  • (G)I-DLE for I love
  • BTS member J-Hope for Jack In The Box
  • NCT for Universe
  • NCT 127 –for 2 Baddies
  • NCT DREAM for Glitch Mode
  • SMTOWN for 2021 Winter SMTOWN : SMCU EXPRESS
  • Stray Kids for MAXIDENT
  • TWICE for BETWEEN 1&2
  • Kim Ho Joong for PANORAMA
  • TWICE's Nayeon for IM NAYEON
  • Red Velvet for The ReVe Festival 2022 – Feel My Rhythm
  • BTS for Proof
  • SEVENTEEN for Face the Sun
  • Youngtak for MMM
  • Lim Young Woong for IM HERO

Rookie Artist of the Year

  • ATBO
  • Billlie
  • IVE
  • Kep1er
  • NewJeans
  • TNX
  • Xdinary Heroes
  • Choi Ye Nac

Read more

This article was first published on December 1, 2022