Chinese New Year 2017
People watch a dragon dance during a celebration before the Chinese Lunar New Year, in Ankang, Shaanxi province, China Reuters

Celebrations around the world are already underway for the Chinese New Year, which begins on 28 January.

The Chinese zodiac calendar - known as Sheng Xiao - is divided into 12 cycles. Each cycle lasts 12 months and is represented by an animal. This year, it is the Year of the Rooster.

Chinese New Year celebrations will last around two weeks, and the festivities are set to end on the 15th day of the first month of the Chinese calendar, with a celebration called the Lantern Festival.

Roosters are the tenth sign in the zodiac and according to Chinese mythology, people born under this sign are seen as confident, honest and hardworking. Weaknesses of those born in the year of the rooster include a tendency for attention-seeking.