Train to Busan
A still from Train to Busan Korean Film Council

Hit Korean thriller films "Train to Busan" and "The Wailing" won at the 22nd Chunsa Film Art Awards that was held in Seoul on May 24.

"Train to Busan" was adjudged as people's choice's most popular film while Na Hongjin bagged the best director award for "The Wailing."

Released in July last year, "Train to Busan" grossed US$82.97 million and sold 11.56 million tickets in South Korea to become the No. 1 film for 2016.

"The Wailing" also became a hit, earning US$49.74 million and selling 6.87 million tickets to end up as the eighth bestselling film in Korea last year.

The Wailing
The Wailing is the eighth bestselling film in Korea last year Korean Film Council

In the acting category, Ha Jung-woo won best actor for "The Tunnel" and Son Ye-jin took home the best actress award for "The Truth Beneath."

Park Jung-min of "Dongju: The Portrait of a Poet" and Yoo In-young of "Misbehavior" were awarded the best supporting actor and actress, respectively.

Gu Kyo-hwan won best new actor for "Beaten Black and Blue" and Lee Sang-hee bagged the best new actress award for "Our Love Story."

The other winners are:

Best new director - Kim Jin-hwang, "The Boy Who Cried Wolf"

Best screenplay - Lee Kyoung-mi, "The Truth Beneath"

Technical award - Kwak Tae-yong, "Train to Busan"

Special achievement - Kim Soo-yong

Special popularity award - Kim Seul-gi and Choi Woo-sik

Popular Actor Award - Kim In Kwon

The Chunsa Film Art Awards started in 1990 and celebrated its 22nd anniversary this year. The awards show was named after the late Korean actor, director and screenwriter Na Woon-gyu, who used Chunsa as pen name. He died in 1937.