The Immigration and Checkpoints Authority (ICA) of Singapore announced on Saturday that North Koreans will require visa to travel to Singapore from 1 October, 2016.

"This is part of our periodic review of the visa framework for foreign nationals," it said in its press release.

The authority also said the information regarding the visa application procedures can be found on ICA's official website.

Singapore allows North Korea a visa free access to enter the country. Other countries which allow North Korea without visa are Malaysia, Dominica, Ecuador, Gambia, Haiti, Kyrgyzstan, Micronesia and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.