Saina Nehwal
Saina looks determined on her comeback run in Malaysia Reuters

Date: 20 January, Friday

Time: 5:40pm SGT/3:10pm IST/9:40am GMT (onwards)

Competition: Malaysia Masters 2017

Venue: Sibu Indoor Stadium, Sarawak

TV Channel: There is no live TV coverage in Singapore.

Live Streaming: BWF official Youtube channel, Hotstar

Live Updates will be available on tournament's official website.

Overview

Saina Nehwal has been untroubled on her comeback run at the ongoing Malaysia Masters tournament as she has romped past her opponents in straight games and is looking good to seal a semi-final spot.

The world number 10 returned to court after suffering a knee injury, which kept her out of action for the most part of post Rio Games season in 2016, at the China Open last year but struggled to make an impact there, in Hong Kong and Macau and eventually lost out on a spot at the World Superseries Finals.

However, a good run at the recently-concluded Premier Badminton League in India, has helped her get some good match practise ahead of the ongoing season. Wins against top shuttlers, Sung Ji Hyun and Nitchaon Jindapol, has boosted her confidence.

Standing in her way and a semi-final spot is 18-year-old Indonesia shuttler Fitriani Fitriani. The world number 40 has made her way into the quarter-final after beating Malaysians Yen Mei Ho and Sonia Cheah in straight games.

The Indonesian teenager rose through the BWF ladder when she defeated former World Junior Champion Goh Jin Wei last year to clinch the Orleans International tournament. She has been reaching the final stages of Grand Prix tournaments but it will be an uphill task for her against the seasoned campaigner, who is looking determined to open the new season with a title under her belt.

TV Schedule

India: Star Sports 1