Ng Ka Long
Ng faces a tricky test in his quarter-final clash on Friday Reuters

Match: Ng Ka Long v Jonatan Christie, Men's singles quarter-final

Date: 20 January, Friday

Time: 4:35pm SGT/2:05pm IST/8:35am GMT (onwards)

Competition: Malaysia Masters 2017

Venue: Sibu Indoor Stadium, Sarawak

TV Channel: There is no live TV coverage in Singapore.

Live Streaming: BWF official Youtube channel, Hotstar

Live Updates will be available on tournament's official website.

Overview

Ng Ka Long is bidding to begin 2017 on a high at the Malaysia Masters after creating history at home by winning the Hong Kong Open last year.

The world number nine also featured in the World Superseries Finals in which he lost to eventual champion Viktor Axelsen and Lee Chong Wei but won his last group game against higher-ranked Son Wan Ho. The 29-year-old top seed has carried his form into the season's first Grand Prix Gold tournament in Sibu and is looking good to make the semi-final.

Ng has so far been easing past his opponents with straight games wins. However, the Hong Kong Kong shuttler will face his first big test in the quarter-final clash on Friday against 19-year-old Indonesian shuttler Jonatan Christie, who is rising through the Men's singles rankings.

Notably, the two shuttlers have met twice and Ng has not won a single match against his eighth seed opponent, including the 2014 Swiss International final. Jonatan has also not dropped a game yet over his last three rounds but was tested in the third round clash against countryman Shesar Hiren Rhustavito (24-22, 21-16).

While Ng is expected to make amends to his poor record against Jonatan, the Indonesian shuttler will be eager to make the most of an opportunity to grab the attention by stunning the top seed on Friday.

TV Schedule

India: Star Sports 1