Chou Tien Chen
Chou Tien Chen is favourites to win the Men's singles title Reuters

Competition: Macau Open 2016

Date: 3 December, 2016

Venue: Tap Seac Multisport Pavilion, Macau

Live Streaming: The semi-final matches can be watched online on BWF's official Youtube Channel.

Overview

The semi-final stages of Macau Open 2016 kickstarts on Saturday at the Tap Seac Multisport Pavilion in Macau. Hong Kong shuttler Cheung Ngan Yi will be up against China's Chen Xiaoxin in the first semi-final of the Women's singles category. The third seed has been in dominating form in the ongoing tournament, decimating all her previous round opponents in straight games.

Cheung made light work of Singapore's seventh seed Xiaoyu Liang 21-17, 21-14 in her quarter-final clash on Friday. On the other hand, Chen, the 18-year-old, has worked her way into the semi-final after comfortable victories so far.

A win on Saturday against Cheung, who is ranked 122 places higher at 20, will be a big moment in the young Chinese shuttler's budding career.

In the second semi-final of the Women's singles, reigning world junior champion Chen Yufei takes on compatriot, 19-year-old Zhang Yiman, who stunned top seed Indian shuttler Saina Nehwal 21-12, 21-17 in their quarter-final.

Men's singles

While Women's singles had three young Chinese shuttlers competing for spots in the final, the Men's singles category will see two of the top-ranked Taiwanese shuttlers in the race for a berth in the title clash.

While top Chou Tien Chen takes on China's Huang Yuxiang, sixth seed Tzu Wei Wang clashes with another shuttler from the Asian powerhouse - Zhao Jun Peng. If both the shuttlers overcome their Chinese opponents, an all-Taiwan final in the Men's singles category awaits Macau.

Semi-final schedule

CategoryMatchTime
Women's singlesCheung Ngan Yi [3] v Chen Xiaoxin2pm SGT/11:30am IST/6am GMT
Women's singlesChen Yufei [6] v Zhang Yiman5:30pm SGT/3pm IST/9:30am GMT
Men's singlesChou Tien Chen [1] v Huang Yuxiang3:10pm SGT/12:40pm IST/7:10am GMT
Men's singlesTzu Wei Wang [6] v Zhao Jun Peng6:10pm SGT/3:40pm IST/10:10am GMT