Denmark Is Going to Reopen to Most of the European Countries Except Portugal, Much of Sweden

The deadly virus outbreak has created a major stir around the world in recent times in more than 170 countries

Denmark mentioned on Thursday that it is going to allow the entry to the citizens from most of the European countries having a low number of coronavirus or COVID-19 cases from June 27, two months earlier the original plan, including a few from Sweden.

The European Union member states, non-EU countries located in the open-border Schengen area like Norway, Britain that is in neither grouping, will be individually assessed on the basis of objective criteria, the Danish Foreign Ministry stated.

Considering the current number of COVID-19 infections in various countries, this would mean Denmark will allow unrestricted entry once again to people from Britain and all EU and Schengen countries except Portugal and Sweden, Justice Minister Nick Haekkerup told reporters.

Denmark to Allow Citizens From European Nations

Medical workers dance to celebrate recovery of COVID 19 patient IANS

The Foreign Ministry said a country was being classified as "open" for travel links with Denmark if it had fewer than 20 new infections per 100,000 inhabitants per week. Sweden as a whole would not qualify at present, but people from some regions in its south, which have seen far fewer infections than in the capital region of Stockholm, will be permitted to enter Denmark as well.

When Norway and Denmark, having curbed their coronavirus outbreaks, reopened their borders to each other earlier this month they excluded Sweden, where the number of COVID-19 infections and deaths remains higher. At the time, Sweden said the move by its Nordic neighbors was a political decision not justifiable on health grounds.

When Denmark opened its border to Germany, Iceland and Norway in May, it said restrictions on travels elsewhere would be in place until August 31. "We are in a significantly better place in Denmark than we had dared to hope just a short time ago. Therefore we can now relax the travel guidance," Foreign Minister Jeppe Kofod said. Travelers will only be allowed to enter Denmark on condition that they book at least six nights' accommodation.

(With agency inputs)

Related topics : Coronavirus