Soompi Awards 2017: Lee Min-ho beats Song Joong Ki, Park Bo Gum to win the Actor of the Year award

While Lee Min-ho received the Actor of the Year award, "Descendants of the Sun" actress Song Hye Kyo, on the other hand, ended up as the Actress of the Year

Lee Min-ho
Actor Lee Min-ho.

The Legend of the Blue Sea star Lee Min-ho added another feather to his hat by winning the Actor of the Year award during that 12th annual Soompi Awards. The 29-year-old actor received the award by beating two popular Korean actors, Song Joong Ki and Park Bo Gum.

According to Yonhap News Agency, the big winners of the prestigious K-pop awards include Lee Min-ho, Song Hye Kyo and boy band EXO and these three were proclaimed to be the most popular Hallyu stars of 2016. The awards are mainly based on the popular fans vote from a almost 139 countries worldwide.

Descendants of the Sun actress Song Hye Kyo won the Actress of the Year after beating Girls' Generation member Yoona.

After their recent wins, fans are speculating that the popular actors Lee Min-ho and Song Hye Kyo may possibly work together very soon. According to the sources as cited by the Korea Portal, this might be the right time for Lee Min Ho and Song Joong Ki's rumored girlfriend to work together in one project.

In other news, Lee Min-ho is rumoured to have cancelled his wedding with Suzy Bae as he will be busy with his upcoming movie, City Hunter 2. The City Hunter actress Park Min-young will not be a part of the upcoming sequel, instead Park Shin-hye will be replacing her as the lead actress, MStarsNews reported.

According to Korea Portal, after the recent results of the 2016 Soompi Awards, the avid followers of Lee Min-ho and Song Hye Kyo expect that Actor and the Actress of the Year could be a part of the upcoming "City Hunter 2" series.

Though these are mere speculations of the fans as neither of "The Legend of the Blue Sea" actor and the "Descendants of the Sun" actress have confirmed anything about it yet.

The other winners of the 12th Annual Soompi Awards include, TWICE, EXO, Taemin of SHINee and Taeyon of Girl's Generation.

This article was first published on March 6, 2017