'The Shape of Water' receives Golden Lion: 74th Venice Film Festival award winners make headlines

The overview and the result of the 74th Venice film festival in detail.

74th Venice Film Festival
Representation of the picture Twitter/Biennale di Venezia

'The Shape of Water' has won the most prestigious award of Venice film festival, Golden Lion, on September 9. The director of the movie, Guillermo del Toro received the award for his sci-fi romantic masterpiece, which is likely to be considered as the front-runner in Academy awards.

Based on a dramatic sci-fi angle, the Mexican director has tried to portray a love story. The movie showcases a mute cleaning lady in a hidden high-security government laboratory and falls in love with a mystical creature, which is a secret classified experiment.

From George Clooney's Suburbicon to Alexander Payne's Downsizing, failed to take the spotlight in 74th Venice film festival, as Annette Bening, an American actress and the jury head selected Del Toro's movie over other nominees.

"If you remain pure and stay with your faith, with what you believe in - in my case, monsters - you can do anything," Del Toro said as quoted by Channel News Asia.

"I'm 52 years old, I weigh over 110 kilograms and I've done more than 10 movies, "As a Mexican, I dedicate this award to all those Mexicans and Latin American directors dreaming of doing something as a parable, who are told it can't be done. It can be done," he ended.

Here are other winners, who made headlines for winning 74 Venice Film Festival awards:

74th Venice film festival
Representation of the picture Twitter/Biennale di Venezia

Grand Jury Prize: "Foxtrot," Samuel Maoz

Silver Lion for Best Director: Xavier Legrand, "Custody"

Volpi Cup for Best Actress: Charlotte Rampling, "Hannah"

Volpi Cup for Best Actor: Kamel El Basha, "The Insult"

Best Screenplay: "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri," Martin McDonagh

Special Jury Prize: "Sweet Country," Warwick Thornton

Marcello Mastroianni Award for Young Performer: Charlie Plummer, "Lean on Pete"


Best Film: "Nico, 1988," Susanna Nicchiarelli

Best Director: Vahid Jalilvand, "No Date, No Signature"

Special Jury Prize: "Caniba," Verena Paravel and Lucien Castaing-Taylor

Best Actress: Lyna Khoudri, "Les bienheureux"

Best Actor: Navid Mohammadzadeh, "No Date, No Signature"

Best Screenplay: "Oblivion Verses," Dominique Wellinski and Rene Ballesteros

Best Short Film: "Gros chagrin," Céline Devaux


Luigi De Laurentiis Award for Best Debut Film: "Custody," Xavier Legrand


Best Documentary on Cinema: "The Prince and the Dybbuk," Elvira Niewiera and Piotr Rosolowski

Best Restored Film: "Come and See"


Best Virtual Reality: "Arden's Wake (Expanded)," Eugene Y.K. Chung

Best Virtual Reality Experience: "La Camera Isabbiata," Laurie Anderson and Hsin-Chien Huang

Best Virtual Reality Story: "Bloodless," Gina Kim