Baeksang Arts Awards 2020 will kick-start from the Korea International Exhibition Centre (KINTEX) in Ilsanseo Gu of Gyeonggi Province on Friday, June 5, at 4.50 p.m. KST. It will feature Suzy Bae, Park Bo Gum, and Shin Dong Yup as the hosts once again this year. The event could also feature star-studded performances of famous k-pop stars and Korean actors.

This year, the annual award ceremony is introducing a change in format with no audience to watch the show. It is because of the ongoing concerns about the spread of novel coronavirus pandemic. The introduction of a Netflix show and a film in the nomination list also makes the event different this year.

For the first time in the history of this award show, a Netflix film, and a Netflix series became a part of the nomination list. Time to Hunt by director Yoon Sung Hyun bagged two nominations -- one in Best Actor category and another in Best New Actor section. The political horror-thriller series Kingdom by producing director Kim Seong Hun also received two nominations. The first one is for Best Drama, and the second one is for the show's technical excellence.

Watch the 56th Baeksang Arts Awards Live Online:

The main award ceremony will begin on Friday at 4.50 p.m. KST. It will air live on JTBC, JTBC 2, and JTBC 4 from KINTEX Hall in Gyeonggi Province (in South Korea). International fans of Korean movies and K-Dramas can watch the annual event live on Vlive.

Meanwhile, Korean drama lovers and moviegoers from various parts of the world, including Singapore, Russia, China, Italy, France, Denmark, Canada, Mexico, India, the US, and the UK, can watch the red carpet arrivals, and celebrity interviews live on TikTok.

Who Are the Presenters of This Year?

The star-studded award show will bring back some of the winners of last year, including Grand Prize winners Jung Woo Sung and Kim Hye Ja, as presenters this year. While Woo Sung will be presenting the Grand Prize in the film category, Hye Ja will be announcing the winners in the television section.

Last year winners of Best New Actor and Best New Actress awards are also returning on stage to present the rookie awards this year. Actress Lee Jae In, actor Kim Young Kwang, actress Kim Hye Yoon, and actor Jang Ki Yong will be announcing the rising stars of this year. Meanwhile, Seo Ye Ji will team up with Kim Soo Hyun to present the Best Film and Best Drama awards.

The Best Script Award in television and the Best Screenplay Award in the film will be announced by Private Life actor Go Kyung Pyo in association with Girls' Generation member Seohyun. Actress Kyung Soo Jin and her co-star in the upcoming OCN drama Train Yoon Shi Yoon are also joining the presenters' list of Baeksang Arts Awards 2020.

The winners of the TikTok Popularity Award will be presented by Im Siwan and Kim Yoo Jung this year. Other presenters of the 56th annual Baeksang Arts Awards include Yum Jung Ah, Lee Byung Hun, Han Ji Min, Go Soo, Lee Sung Min, Ahn So Hee, Kwon So Hyun, Park Hae Joon, Kim Byung Chul, Lee Jung Eun, Lee Elijah, Jang Seung Jo, Jin Sun Kyu, Sung Soo Yeon, Seo Yi Sook, and Jun Hyun Moo.

Baeksang Arts Awards 2020
Baeksang Arts Awards 2020 will kick-start soon. JTBC

Who Are the Nominees of the Baeksang Arts Awards 2020?

The film with the most number of nominations is the Oscar-winning movie Parasite. The flick bagged nominations in all the categories except the Best New Director section for which the film was not eligible to participate.

Meanwhile, the Korean drama lovers can except a neck-to-neck competition between KBS drama When the Camelia Blooms and tvN series Crash Landing on You. When the KBS drama bagged nine nominations, the tvN series received nominations in eight categories.

Here is the Complete List of Winner:

  • Best Drama - When the Camellia Blooms from KBS2, Crash Landing on You from tvN, Stove League from SBS, Kingdom Season 2 from Netflix and Hyena from SBS
  • Best Variety Show - Where Is My Home? From MBC, How Do You Play? from MBC, Delicious Rendezvous from SBS, Mr. Trot from TV Chosun, and Iceland in Three Meals from tvN.
  • Best Educational Show - Docu Insight – Archive Project Modern Korea from KBS, The Page Turners from tvN, Giant PengTV from EBS, PD Note – Prosecution Reporters from MBC and SBS Special – Yo Han Ssi Dol Yong Hyun from SBS.
  • Best Actor - Kang Ha Neul for KBS2 series When the Camellia Blooms, Namgoong Min for SBS drama Stove League, Park Seo Joon for JTBC series Itaewon Class, Joo Ji Hoon for SBS drama Hyena and Hyun Bin for tvN series Crash Landing on You.
  • Best Actress - Gong Hyo Jin for KBS2 drama When the Camellia Blooms, Kim Hye Soo for SBS drama Hyena, Kim Hee Ae for JTBC series The World of the Married, Son Ye Jin for tvN drama Crash Landing on You and IU for tvN series Hotel Del Luna.
  • Best Supporting Actor - Kim Young Min for JTBC drama The World of the Married, Yang Kyung Won for tvN series Crash Landing on You, Oh Jung Se for KBS2 drama When the Camellia Blooms, Yoo Jae Myung for JTBC series Itaewon Class and Jeon Seok Ho for SBS drama Hyena
  • Best Supporting Actress - Kwon Nara for JTBC drama Itaewon Class, Kim Sun Young for tvN series Crash Landing on You, Seo Ji Hye for tvN drama Crash Landing on You, Son Dambi for KBS2 series When the Camellia Blooms and Yeom Hye Ran for KBS2 drama When the Camellia Blooms.
  • Best New Actor - Kim Kang Hoon for KBS2 drama When the Camellia Blooms, Ahn Bo Hyun for JTBC series Itaewon Class, Ahn Hyo Seop for SBS drama Dr. Romantic 2, Ong Seong Wu for JTBC series Moments of 18 and Lee Jae Wook for MBC drama Extraordinary You.
  • Best New Actress - Kim Da Mi for JTBC drama Itaewon Class, Jeon Mi Do for tvN series Hospital Playlist, Jeon Yeo Bin for JTBC drama Melo Is My Nature, Jung Ji So for tvN series The Cursed and Han So Hee for JTBC drama The World of the Married.
  • Best Male Entertainer - Kim Sung Joo for TV Chosun show Mr. Trot, Kim Heechul for JTBC show Ask Us Anything, Moon Se Yoon for KBS2 show 2 Days & 1 Night Season 4, Yoo Jae Suk for MBC show How Do You Play? and Jang Sung Kyu for JTBC show My Room, Row 1.
  • Best Female Entertainer - Kim Min Kyung for ComedyTV show Delicious Guys, Park Na Rae for MBC show Home Alone (I Live Alone), Ahn Young Mi for MBC show Radio Star, Jang Do Yeon for Olive show Food Bless You and Hong Hyun Hee for TV Chosun show Wife's Taste
  • Best Film – Parasite, The Man Standing Next, House of Hummingbird, E.X.I.T and Kim Ji Young, Born 1982.
  • Best Actor - Song Kang Ho for Parasite, Lee Byung Hun for The Man Standing Next, Lee Je Hoon for Time to Hunt, Jo Jung Suk for E.X.I.T and Han Suk Kyu for Forbidden Dream.
  • Best Actress - Kim So Jin for Another Child, Kim Hee Ae for Moonlit Winter, Jeon Do Yeon for Birthday, Jung Yu Mi for Kim Ji Young, Born 1982 and Jo Yeo Jung for Parasite.
  • Best Supporting Actor - Kim Young Min for Lucky Chan Sil, Park Myung Hoon for Parasite, Won Hyun Joon for The Divine Move 2: The Wrathful, Lee Gwang Soo for Inseparable Bros and Lee Hee Joon for The Man Standing Next.
  • Best Supporting Actress - Kim Guk Hee for Tune in for Love, Kim Mi Kyung for Kim Ji Young, Born 1982, Kim Sae Byeok for House of Hummingbird, Park So Dam for Parasite and Lee Jung Eun for Parasite.
  • Best New Actor - Park Myung Hoon for Parasite, Park Hae Soo for Time to Hunt, Park Hyung Sik for Juror 8, Ahn Ji Ho for A Boy and Sungreen and Jung Hae In for Tune in for Love.
  • Best New Actress - Kang Mal Geum for Lucky Chan Sil, Kim So Hye for Moonlit Winter, Kim Hye Joon for Another Child, Park Ji Hoo for House of Hummingbird and Jang Hye Jin for Parasite.

Watch the Trailer for Baeksang Arts Awards 2020 below: