Lionel Messi and Lewis Hamilton announced joint winners of Sportsman of the Year Award

The Barcelona striker played a pivotal role in the La Liga team's domestic success in the previous season

The current Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton and footballer Lionel Messi were awarded the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award in Berlin on Monday, as joint winners. The is the first time in the history of the 20-year-old award that the voting got tied.

The Barcelona star Lionel Messi had previously won his sixth Ballon d'Or award for the previous season in which he was an impeccable force behind Barcelona's domestic success. Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton, on the other hand, also won his sixth world championship in 2019 as he won 11 races and completed 17 podium finishes.

Simone Biles won the Sportswoman of Year award

Lionel Messi
Lionel Messi Reuters

American gymnast Simone Biles, who became the most decorated gymnast in world championship history when she won her 25th medal last year, won her third Sportswoman of the Year gong after winning the award in 2017 and 2019.

The South African rugby team, which won the World Cup in Japan last year for the third time in history, were crowned the Team of the Year, beating European soccer champions Liverpool and women's soccer World Cup winners the United States. German NBA star Dirk Nowitzki, who retired last year after a 21-year career in the NBA with the Dallas Mavericks, was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his contribution to basketball.

Spanish Basketball Federation won Laureus Academy Exceptional Achievement Award

Lewis Hamilton
Lewis Hamilton Instagram

Meanwhile, the Spanish Basketball Federation was recognised with the Laureus Academy Exceptional Achievement Award after the men's World Cup triumph last year while the women have won three of the last four EuroBasket titles. German Formula Three driver Sophia Floersch, who fractured her spine in an aerial crash at the Macau Grand Prix in Nov. 2018 that required an 11-hour surgery to fix, made the Comeback of the Year after getting back into the cockpit last year.

Former Indian batsman Sachin Tendulkar, the highest run-scorer of all time in international cricket, had the support of a cricket-crazy nation to win a fan vote for the award for the Best Sporting Moment from the last two decades. In his sixth and final one-day international World Cup in 2011, Tendulkar finally got his hands on the title as India won on home soil and he was carried on his teammates' shoulders for a lap of honour.

List of winners:

Sportsman of the Year: Lewis Hamilton and Lionel Messi

Sportswoman of the Year: Simone Biles

Team of the Year: South Africa Men's Rugby Team

Breakthrough of the Year: Egan Bernal

Comeback of the Year: Sophia Floersch

Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Oksana Masters

Action Sportsperson of the Year: Chloe Kim

Best Sporting Moment: 'Carried on the shoulders of a nation' – Sachin Tendulkar

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dirk Nowitzki

Laureus Academy Exceptional Achievement Award: Spanish Basketball Federation

Laureus Sport for Good Award: South Bronx United