Korean Music Awards 2022: Live Stream Details, Nomination List, and More

Korean Music Awards 2022 is the next big event in the K-pop world. Music lovers from different countries, like the US, Canada, India, Singapore, Japan, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, Brazil, and Mexico, are waiting for this live show. It could feature the onstage performances of several globally known artists, including Aespa, AKMU, IU, BTS, Lee Mu Jin, and Kim Hyun Chul.

The 19th annual award ceremony is organized by the Korea Creative Content Agency (KCCA) in association with the Ministry of Culture, Sports, and Tourism. According to the organizers, the award show will evaluate and recognize the talented artistic creations in Korean society again this year. It is meaningless to distinguish between mainstream and nonmainstream while evaluating the best creations, they added.

With just two weeks left for the annual award ceremony, the organizers have revealed some details about the event. They announced the nominees for this year through a live event with the date and time of the show.

Here is Everything to Know About Korean Music Awards 2022:

Date, Time, and Venue: The 19th annual award ceremony will take place in South Korea on March 1. The glam event will kickstart with a live telecast at 6 pm KST.

Hosts, Presenters, and Performers: The organizers are yet to reveal the hosts for this year. They have also not announced the presenters and performers for the 19th annual award ceremony. The details could be released in the upcoming days.

Live Stream Details: People from various parts of the world, including the US, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, India, Singapore, Japan, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, the UK, South Africa, Europe, Peru, Spain, Denmark, and China, can watch the 19th annual Korean Music Awards live online on the official YouTube channel on March 1 from 6 pm KST onwards.

Nomination List: The organizers announced the nominees for this year on February 9. Globally known K-pop bands and artists were nominated in various categories. IU will compete with AKMU, Kim Hyun Cheol, and Cheon Yong Seong for the Album of the Year award. Meanwhile, BTS will compete with Lee Moo Jin, Aespa, and AKMU for Song of the Year.

Korean Music Awards 2022
Korean Music Awards 2022 logo. Korean Music Awards 2022

Here is the Complete Nomination List of Korean Music Awards 2022:

Rookie Artist of the Year

  • aespa
  • Lee Mu Jin
  • Haepaary

Artist of the Year

  • IU
  • Kim Hyun Cheol
  • The Volunteers
  • BTS
  • Lang Lee

Song of the Year

  • BTS for Butter
  • AKMU for Nakka
  • Aespa for Next Level
  • Lee Moo Jin for Traffic Light
  • Lang Lee for There is a Wolf

Album of the Year

  • Cheon Yong Seong for Drowned
  • IU for Lilac
  • Lang Lee for There is a Wolf
  • Kim Hyun Cheol for City Breeze and Love Song
  • AKMU for Next Episode

Best K-pop Album

  • Aespa for Savage
  • BoA for Better
  • Chungha for Querencia
  • CL for Alpha
  • Shinee for Atlantis

Best K-pop Song

  • Aespa for Next Level
  • BTS for Butter
  • STAYC for ASAP
  • Tomorrow X Together for 0X1=Lovesong (I Know I Love You)
  • Weeekly for After School

Best Pop Album

  • AKMU for Next Episode
  • eAeon for Fragile
  • IU for Lilac
  • Jeong Cha-sik for Night Driving
  • Kim Hyun-chul for City Breeze and Love Song

Best Pop Song

  • AKMU for Nakka
  • IU for Lilac
  • Lee Mu Jin for Traffic Light
  • Lee Seung Hwan and Sunwoo Jung Ah for How Could You
  • Wendy for When This Rain Stops

Best Rock Album

  • Atom Music Heart for Exile of iZm
  • Pakk for Chilgasal
  • Soumbalgwang for Happiness, Flower
  • Trap for Trap
  • Zeonpasa for Psyche of Eons

Best Rock Song

  • Badlamb for Noon Moment
  • Soumbalgwang for Dance
  • Trap for One Corner
  • Wabi King for Rock and Roll Night (featuring Shin Young)
  • Zeonpasa for Lie

Best Modern Rock Album

  • Bosudong Cooler for Sand
  • Jannabi for The Land of Fantasy
  • The Volunteers for The Volunteers
  • Wings of the Isang for The Borderline Between Hope and Despair
  • Yang Chang-keun for Wave

Best Modern Rock Song

  • Leaves Black for Farewell, My Books!
  • Meaningful Stone for Dancing in the Rain
  • Silica Gel for Desert Eagle
  • The Volunteers for Let Me Go!
  • Wings of the Isang for Twenty Years Old

Best Electronic Album

  • Haepaary for Born By Gorgeousness
  • Haihm for Owhere
  • Joyul for Earwitness
  • Leesuho for Monika
  • Net Gala for Shinpa

Best Electronic Song

  • Doildoshi for Forest Illumination
  • Eobchae for The Song of Hope
  • Haepaary for Go to GPD and Then
  • Kirara for HRT
  • Moonsun for Tom

Best Rap and Hip Hop Album

  • Changmo for Underground Rockstar
  • Choi LB for Independent Music
  • Los for Skandalouz
  • Mild Beats for Fragment
  • Unofficialboyy and Haifhaif for Net, Trap, Launcher, Capture

Best Rap and Hip Hop Song

  • Bill Stax for 420 Flow (featuring Lobonabeat)
  • Changmo for Taiji
  • Don Mills for Daebak Life (featuring Northfacegawd, Uneducated Kid)
  • Los for Blue Lemonade (featuring Hwaji)
  • Since for Spring Rain (featuring Rakon)

Best R&B and Soul Album

  • Dvwn for It's Not Your Fault
  • Jerd for A.M.P.
  • Mind Combined for Circle
  • Sogumm for Precious
  • Sumin and Slom for Miniseries
  • Thama for Don't Die Colors

Best R&B and Soul Song

  • Hiko for Time Goes By (featuring George)
  • Lee Hi for H.S.K.T. (featuring Wonstein)
  • Sumin and Slom for The Gonlan Song
  • Thama for Blessed (featuring G.Soul)
  • Youra for Mimi

Best Folk Album

  • Chun Yong Sung for Drowned
  • Jang Pill Soon for Petrichor
  • Jeon Ho Kwon for Cosmos
  • Lang Lee for There is a Wolf
  • Lee Joo Young for Ballad

Best Folk Song

  • Chun Yong Sung for Barley Tea (featuring Kang Mal-geum)
  • Jang Pill-soon for Petrichor
  • Lang Lee for The Generation of Tribulation
  • Lang Lee for There is a Wolf
  • Lee Joo Young for It's Snowing (featuring Earip)

Best Jazz Album

  • Jihye Lee Orchestra for Daring Mind
  • Lee Jiyeun Jazz Orchestra for Blue Flower
  • Nam Yoo Sun for Things We Lost & Found
  • SB Circle for Pseudoscience
  • Yongseok Lee for The New Old One

Best Jazz Vocal Album

  • Bu Young Lee for Love, Like A Song
  • Golden Swing Band for Golden Rules
  • Kim Ju Hwan for My Funny Valentine: Kim Ju-hwan Sings Richard Rodgers Songbook
  • Korea Jazz Guardians for We All Started in Jazz Club
  • Maria Kim for With Strings: Dream of You

Best Metal and Hardcore Album

  • Agnes for Hegemony Shift
  • Ambroxiak for Detritus of Elysian Creation
  • Crux for Who Defines What's Divine
  • Hammering for Libera Me
  • Slant for 1st Album
  • Spit On My Tomb for Necrosis
This article was first published on February 10, 2022