Lin Dan
Two-time Olympic champion Lin Dan leads China's campaign Reuters

The 15th edition of Sudirman Cup kickstarts in Gold Coast, Australia with top teams participating in the mixed team tournament.

Teams have been divided into three groups - 1, 2 and 3 and these groups have subgroups. Top 12 nations, according to players' cumulative BWF ranking points, have been drawn in Group 1, divided into four subgroups, with 10-time champions China starting as top seeds.

Only the teams in Group 1 will battle for the title while teams in Group 2 and Group 3 will eye promotion to higher-group.

Tournament format

The teams in Group 1 will play a single-legged round robin group stage. Two teams, who finish 1-2 in a subgroup, will qualify for the quarter-final.

Each tie will have five matches - Men's singles, Women's singles, Women's doubles, Men's doubles and Mixed Doubles rubber. The winning team needs to clinch minimum three rubbers.

Competition: Sudirman Cup 2017

Date: 22 May, Sunday to 28 May, Sunday

Venue: Gold Coast Sports and Leisure Centre, Gold Coast, Australia

TV Channel: In Singapore, StarHub Sports will provide live TV coverage.

Live streaming: The matches can be watched online at BWF Youtube Channel (Global), Hotstar, Astro Go (Malaysia)

Live scores can be followed on the tournament's official page.


Group 1A

Teams: China, Thailand, Hong Kong

China will be looking to clinch a 11th title and they have arrived in Gold Coast with a strong team, boasting the likes of Olympic champions Chen Long and Lin Dan, He Bingjiao, Chen Qingchen and Jia Yifan.

However, they will face stiff competition from seventh seeds Thailand and 11th seeds Hong Kong. While former world number one Women's singles shuttler Ratchanok Intanon will lead the former team's campaign, Hong Kong have quality shuttlers of the likes of Vincent Ki Wong, Cheung Ngan Yi and Hu Yun.


Tie Date Time
China v Hong Kong 21 May, Sunday 10am SGT/7:30am IST/2am GMT
Thailand v Hong Kong 22 May, Monday 4pm SGT/1:30pm IST/8am GMT
China v Thailand 24 May, Wednesday 10am SGT/7:30am IST/2am GMT

Group 1 B

Teams: South Korea, Chinese Taipei, Russia

Inaugural Badminton Asia Mixed Team Championships runners-up South Korea are overwhelming favourites to win the group as they have the likes as they have the likes of Son Wan Ho and Sung Ji Hyun in their ranks.

All eyes will also be on world number one Women's singles shuttler Tai Tzu Ying, who will lead Chinese Taipei's campaign.


Tie Date Time
Korea v Russia 21 May, Sunday 4pm SGT/1:30pm IST/8am GMT
Chinese Taipei v Russia 22 May, Monday 4pm SGT/1:30pm IST/8am GMT
Korea v Chinese Taipei 24 May, Wednesday 10am SGT/7:30am IST/2am GMT

Group 1 C

Teams: Japan, Malaysia, Germany

Second seeds Japan will be high on confidence as they won the inaugural Badminton Asia Championships earlier this year. They have a healthy mix of top-ranked doubles and singles stars and they will be the team to beat in the knockout stages of the tournament.

On the other hand, Malaysia, led by veteran Lee Chong Wei, are eyeing their first final appearance and they should be able to get past the group, which also has Germany, who were promoted from Group 2 after England withdrew from the tournament.


Tie Date Time
Japan v Germany 21 May, Sunday 4pm SGT/1:30pm IST/8am GMT
Malaysia v Germany 23 May, Tuesday 10am SGT/7:30am IST/2am GMT
Japan v Malaysia 24 May, Wednesday 4pm SGT/1:30pm IST/8am GMT

Group 1 D

Teams: Denmark, Indonesia and India

In the Group of Death, India will have to battle hard to progress past the group stages as they have been drawn with second seed Denmark and sixth seeds Indonesia.

With Saina Nehwal withdrawing, PV Sindhu is expected to lead the ninth-seeded team's campaign. Their doubles unit will be tested as both Indonesia and Denmark have top-ranked doubles pairs to do the job for their teams.


Tie Date Time
Denmark v India 22 May, Monday 10am SGT/7:30am IST/2am GMT
Indonesia v India 23 May, Tuesday 4pm SGT/1:30pm IST/8am GMT
Denmark v Indonesia 24 May, Wednesday 4pm SGT/1:30pm IST/8am GMT

TV Schedule

Malaysia: Astro Supersport 4

Indonesia: Fox Sports

India: Star Sports

Singapore: StarHub

China: CCTV 5+

Australia: Fox Sports