Jose Mourinho
Mourinho suffered his third straight defeat as United manager on Sunday Reuters

Match: Northampton Town v Manchester United

Date: 21 September, Wednesday

Time: 2:45am SGT (Thursday)12:15am IST (Thursday)/ 7:45pm BST

Venue: Sixfields Stadium

Competition: League Cup 2016/17

TV Channel: Eleven Singapore will provide live TV coverage in Singapore.


Northampton Town defeated West Bromwich Albion in the previous round of the League Cup. The match ended in a 2-2 draw and the course of the match was decided on penalties, which was own by the League One side.

Manchester United have hit rock bottom after losing their last three matches played in all competitions, which includes a 2-1 defeat at the hands of Manchester City in the Manchester derby at Old Trafford on 10 Spetember.

Jose Mourinho will be keen to help the Red Devils bounce back from their poor form when they take on Northampton Town in the third round of the competition. A victory here will see them book a place in the last 16 of the League Cup.

TV Listings

UK: Sky Sports 1

India: Ten 2

Singapore: Eleven Sports Singapore

United States: beIN SPORTS CONNECT U.S.A

Team news

Northampton Town

Possible XI: Smith; Moloney, Diamond, Nyatanga, Buchanan; Beautyman, McCourt, Taylor; Gorre, Revell, Anderson

 Manchester United

Possible XI: Romero; Fosu-Mensah, Smalling, Blind, Darmian; Carrick, Herrera; Mata, Rooney, Young; Rashford