Magnus Carlsen
Magnus Carlsen is the reigning champion Reuters

Match: Magnus Carlsen v Sergey Karjakin

Date: 30 November, Wednesday

Time: 3am SGT (Thursday)/12:30am IST (Thursday)/7pm GMT

Venue: New York

Competition: World Chess Championship 2016

Live streaming: Click here for the live streaming link to watch the clash between Magnus Carlsen and Sergey Karjakin. The same link can also be used on mobile devices as it is for the first time the chess match will be telecasted on smartphones.

Overview

The clash on Wednesday will see these two superstars battle to the championship. Magnus Carlsen is the defending champion and will be looking to keep the crown by defeating the challenger, Sergey Karjakin.

After 12 rounds the scores are now level and as both the stars have won six rounds each. Both the players were settled for half a point until the end of the seventh round as it ended in a draw.

However, things changed in the eighth round as the Russian got better of his opponent and went on to win the first match of the tournament. Karjakin, who was playing in black was successful in taking the lead by defeating the reigning champion.

The ninth round ended in another draw and Carlsen levelled the score in the 10th round. The Norweigian was playing in white was registered a win over his opponent. The wins for Karjakin and Carlsen in the eighth and 10th round respectively, were the only wins of this tournament.

The next two rounds ended in a draw, which has seen both share six points each after 12 rounds. The match has resulted in a sudden death and the chess fans will be hoping there can be a winner in the 2016 World Chess Championship on Wednesday.