Lee Chong Wei
Chong Wei will look to make amends for his early exit in Denmark Reuters

Competition: French Open badminton 2016

Date: 25 to 30 October

Venue: Stade Pierre de Coubertin, Paris

TV Coverage: In SIngapore there is no TV coverage of 2016 French Open.

Live Streaming: BWF official YouTube channel

Overview

Days after the end of 2016 Denmark Open, the top shuttlers from across the globe will battle for another Badminton World Federation (BWF) Super Series titles in Paris from 25 to 30 October.

Denmark though was not a happy hunting ground for top seeds as both Lee Chong Wei and Carolina Marin failed to dominate after medal-winning performances at the 2016 Rio Olympics.

The Malaysian legend, who was fresh from the success at 2016 Japan Open, went down to unseeded Frenchman Brice Leverdez in the quarter-final. Chong Wei failed to make full use of the absence of top-ranked Chinese shuttlers Lin Dan and Chen Long, who will also miss the French Open.

However, it was another unseeded shuttler from Thailand, Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk, who clinched his maiden Superseries title at Denmark on Sunday by defeating South Korea's Son Wan Ho in the final.

On the other hand, Marin, who battled illness in the initial stages, succumbed to eighth seed Akane Yamaguchi in the semi-final in Denmark. The 19-year-old Japanese shuttler clinched the title, which was also her second Superseries title in October after she won the Korea Open as well.

TV Schedule

India: Star Sports HD 4

Seeding information

Men's singles

  1. Lee Chong Wei (Mas)
  2. Viktor Axelsen (Dnk)
  3. Jan O Jorgensen (Dnk)
  4. Tian Houwei (Chn)
  5. Chou Tien Chen (Twn)
  6. Son Wan Ho (Kor)
  7. Kidambi Srikanth (Ind)
  8. Ka Long Angus (Hkg)

Women's singles

  1. Carolina Marin (Esp)
  2. Ratchanok Intanon (Idn)
  3. Nozomi Okuhara (Jpn)
  4. Sung Ji Hyun (Kor)
  5. Tai Tzu Ying (Twn)
  6. PV Sindhu (Ind)
  7. Sun Yu (Chn)
  8. Akane Yamaguchi (Jpn)

Schedule of key matches on 26 October

Men's Singles

Lee Chong Wei [1] v Hsu Jen Hao - 10:05pm SGT/4:05pm IST/3:05pm BST

Hyeok Jin v Viktor Axelsen [2] - 12am SGT (Thursday)/9:30pm IST/5pm BST

Marc Zwiebler v Jan O Jorgensen [3] - 9pm SGT/6:30pm IST /2pm BST

Tian Houwei [4] v Moulana Mustofa - 4:50pm SGT/2:20pm IST/9:50am BST

Wing Ki Vincent v Chou Tien Chen [5] - 6pm SGT/3:30pm IST/11am BST

Son Wan Ho [6] v Qualifier 4 - 11:35pm SGT/9:05pm IST/4:35pm BST

Ka Long Angus [8] v Qualifier 2 - 2:35am SGT (Thursday)/12:05am IST/7:35pm BST

Women's Singles

Akane Yamaguchi [8] v Porntip Buranaprasertsuk - 4:30pm SGT/2pm IST/9:30am BST

Mia Blichfeldt v Tai Tzu Ying [4] - 5:35pm SGT/3:05pm IST/10:35am BST

Yip Pui Yin v PV Sindhu [6] - 5:15pm SGT/2:45pm IST/10:15am BST

Cheung Ngan Yi v Sung Ji Hyun [5] - 2:15am SGT (Thursday)/11:45pm IST/7:15pm BST

Sun Yu [7] v Kim Hyo Min - 3am SGT (Thursday)/12:30 am IST (Thursday)/8pm BST

Full Schedule of the 2016 French Open can be found here.