Lee Chong Wei
Chong Wei clinched the 2016 Japan Open title last month Reuters

Competition: Denmark Open 2016

Date: 18 to 23 October.

TV Coverage: In SIngapore there is no TV coverage of 2016 Denmark Open.

Live Streaming: BadmintonWorld.tv official YouTube channel.


Denmark Open 2016 will see top shuttlers from across the globe battle for the Badminton World Federation (BWF) Super Series titles from 18 to 23 October.

The focus in the Men's singles event will be on Malaysian shuttler Lee Chong Wei, who is fresh from from his Japan Open success. The world number one begins a busy schedule between October and November 2016, in which he is expected to take part in four Super Series events - Denmark Open, French Super Series, China Open, Hong Kong Open.

Chong Wei clinched his third straight Olympic silver medal in the Men's singles category in Rio de Janeiro earlier this year. He defeated his arch rival Lin Dan in a hard-fought semi-final but went down against Chen Long in the final.

However, the absence of both the Chinese shuttlers in Denmark is likely to make the 33-year-old's progress easier. However, he does not want to look too much into it but is focussed on getting the job done.

"I heard China's Lin Dan and Chen Long will not be playing in the Denmark Open and French Open but that will be no reason to relax on my preparations for the tournaments," Chong Wei was quoted as saying by the New Straits Times Online.

In the first round, the top seed will take on Wei Nan of Hong Kong on 19 October.

Meanwhile, local stars Viktor Axelsen and Jan O Jorgensen, who have been seeded second and third, respectively, will look to make use the absence of top Chinese shuttlers.

In the Women's singles event, Rio Olympic gold-medallist Carolina Marin is the top seed for the six-day-long tournament. Meanwhile, defending champion Li Xuerui has ruled herself out with an injury.

Marin will be tested by Thai star Ratchanok Intanon and Japan's Nozomi Okuhara, who are among the top seeds for the event. It will be interesting to see how Indian badminton sensation PV Sindhu fares in Denmark after her silver medal-winning feat at the Rio Games.

Notably, Sindhu, who has been seeded sixth, defeated Marin in the semi-final of the 2015 Denmark Open before losing to Xuerui in the final.

The Men's doubles event will see top-seeded Chinese shuttlers Chai Biao and Hong Wei face stiff competition from Denmark pairing of Mathias Boe and Carsten Mogensen. Malaysian shuttlers, Wee Kiong and V Shem will also be a pair to watch out for.

It is likely a battle between Korea's pairing of Kyung Eun and Seung Chan and Japanese duo Misaki Matsutomo-Ayaka Takahashi in the Women's doubles category

TV Schedule

India: Star Sports 4

Seeding information

Men's singles

1. Lee Chong Wei(Mas)

2. Viktor Axelsen (Dnk)

3. Jan O Jorgensen (Dnk)

4. Tian Houwei (Chn)

5. Chou Tien Chen (Twn)

6. SON Wan Ho (Kor)

7. Ka Long Angus (Hkg)

8. Rajiv Ouseph (GBR)

Women's singles

1. Carolina Marin (Esp)

2. Ratchanok Intanon (Idn)

3. Nozomi Okuhara (Jpn)

4. Sung Ji Hyun (Kor)

5. Tai Tzu Ying (Twn)

6. PV Sindhu (Ind)

7. SUN Yu (Chn)

8. Akane Yamaguchi (Jpn)

Schedule of key matches on 19 October

Men's Singles

Lee Chong Wei [1] v WEI Nan - 12am SGT (Thursday)/9:30pm IST/5pm BST

Hyeok Jin v Viktor Axelsen[2] - 12.45 am SGT (Thursday)/10:15pm IST/5:45pm BST

SHI Yuqi v Jan O Jorgensen [3]- 3am SGT (Thursday)/12:30am IST (Thursday)/8pm BST

Tian Houwei [4] v Pablo ABIAN - 10:30pm SGT/8pm IST/3:30pm BST

Tien Chen [5] v Hu Yun - 3pm SGT/12:30pm IST/8am BST

Hans-Kristian Vittinghus v Son Wan Ho [6] - 11:15pm SGT/8:45pm IST/4:15pm BST

Qualification 4 v Ka Long Angus [7] - 8:15pm SGT/5:45pm IST/1:15pm BST

Rajiv Ouseph [8] v Iskandar Zulkarnain - 9pm SGT/6:30pm IST/2pm BST

Women's Singles

Carolina Marin [1] v Qualification 2 - 7:30pm SGT/5pm IST/12:30pm BST

Nozomi Okuhara [3] v Yip Pui Yin - 9:45pm IST/7:15pm IST/2:45pm BST

Xiaoyu Lang v Sung Ji Hyun [4] - 1:30am SGT (Thursday)/11pm IST/6:30pm BST

Linda Zetchiri v Tai Tzu Ying [5] - 11:15pm SGT/8:45 IST/4:15pm BST

He Bingjiao v PV Sindhu [6] - 3am SGT (Thursday)/12:30am IST (Thursday)/8pm BST

Sun Yu [7] v Kim Hyo Min - 9pm SGT/6:30pm IST/2pm BST

Akane Yamaguchi [8] v Nichaon Jindapol - 9:45pm SGT/7:15pm IST/2:45pm BST

Full Schedule of the 2016 Denmark Open can be found here.